Sports Entertainment

Damian Lillard’s lonely life with Bucks after getting traded, splitting with wife

It’s the unseen side of a blockbuster NBA trade.

Milwaukee Bucks guard Damian Lillard has no regrets about his “big boy decision” to seek a trade after 11 years with the Trail Blazers, but the transition has been “tough” for the newly single NBA star, who filed for divorce from his college sweetheart, Kay’La Lillard, on Oct. 2, 2023, a week after he was dealt from Portland to Milwaukee.

“It’s definitely lonely because I’m such a family guy,” Lillard told Sports Illustrated recently. “My life is my family. After games, I would come out and my whole family would be back there. My kids coming out of the playroom. My mom, my brother, my cousins lived there, you know what I mean?”

Damian Lillard #0 of the Milwaukee Bucks reacts during the fourth quarter against the Philadelphia 76ers at the Wells Fargo Center on February 25, 2024 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Getty Images
Damian Lillard and his family at NBA All-Star weekend in Indianapolis in February 2024. Instagram/Damian Lillard

Lillard’s family and his three children — son Damian Jr., 5, and 2-year-old twins Kalii and Kali — attended the All-Star festivities this month in Indianapolis, where he was named All-Star Game MVP and the winner of 3-point contest.

“My best friends live in Portland,” Lillard said. “So I would come out, we would go to dinner. They might come to my house. After practice, I might go to my mom’s house and just chill. That’s how my life was. So, I mean, I’m fine because I’m grown. But it’s definitely lonely. I’m filled up by those people.”

Damian Lillard’s ex-wife, Kay’La Lillard. Instagram/Kay'La Lillard
Damian Lillard and his family at Fiserv Forum in Milwaukee. Instagram/Damian Lillard

The 33-year-old All-NBA guard went on to explain that he “[doesn’t] have much of a life” after moving to Milwaukee last fall when the Bucks traded for him on Sept. 27.

“Bro, go to practice, go home, watch boxing, play video games,” Lillard said of his routine. “Man, I type in [boxing website] FightHype on YouTube 100 times and be praying for something new to be on there.

“Seriously, I don’t have much of a life. But that’s what comes with making a big boy decision. You got to be down for that and figure it out.”

Lillard is focused on staying the course with his new team and jelling with superstar Giannis Antetokounmpo.

Damian Lillard #0 of the Milwaukee Bucks dribbles during the third quarter against the Philadelphia 76ers at the Wells Fargo Center on February 25, 2024 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Getty Images

“It’s been a real transition,” he said. “Being in the same situation for 11 years, deciding to move on from that, wanting a chance to win. And then coming here playing for a first-time coach [Adrian Griffin] and him being new to the team. So it isn’t like I came to Milwaukee and everything was already established. It was a completely new staff.

“Obviously, trying to figure out me pairing with Giannis and being a part of this team. It’s a process and I think that’s been an adjustment for both of us. He’s used to playing a certain way. I’m used to playing a certain way, and I think we’ve had moments. I just think it’s still a work in progress.”

The Bucks hired Doc Rivers as their head coach in January following Adrian Griffin’s dismissal after 43 games on the job.

Milwaukee is in the third spot in the Eastern Conference with a 37-21 record, and visit the Hornets Thursday in Charlotte.