Fashion & Beauty

I got the world’s ugliest tattoo — when I look at it, I try to not cry

She doesn’t find it appealing.

A Floridian claims she has the “world’s ugliest banana tattoo on my finger” after getting ink redone this week.

Marie Armstrong, of Palm Beach, took to TikTok on Monday to explain how this slip-up went down. Her rueful post has drawn 70,400 views.

Armstrong said she got a tattoo of a half-peeled banana on her index finger about a year ago. The ink “completely” faded, so she decided to accompany her boyfriend to an unidentified tattoo shop to get it redrawn.

“You could not tell what it was. I didn’t even count it as a tattoo,” Armstrong said of the initial banana.

“So when my boyfriend told me he had a tattoo appointment and that he was getting a tattoo done by this artist who’s really good,” she continued, “I was like, I’ll go with you and I’ll get my banana redone.”

This is the banana Marie Armstrong got tattooed on her index finger a year ago. Marie Armstrong TikTok
Warning: This video contains explicit language.

Armstrong has other finger tattoos, so she expected the banana to fade. What she didn’t expect, however, was the artistry to come.

Armstrong first noted that she and her boyfriend had different artists, and she was unable to communicate with her inkmaster because he only spoke Spanish.

“I show him a picture of right when I got the banana done the first time, and he goes ahead and starts free-handing, like, adding on the rest of the banana to what he can already see and sketching it,” she explained.

“I didn’t really expect him to print [a] stencil because, like, you’d have to size it perfectly,” Armstrong went on. “So I’m like freehand, fine. You’re an artist, like, this is what you do, you know what you’re doing.”

Unfortunately, the banana faded fast, so Armstrong decided to get it redone. Marie Armstrong TikTok

When she saw the finished product, Armstrong went, um, bananas.

“I look at it, and I am trying to not cry. Like, I know that these are stupid, silly, little, goofy tattoos and maybe to you, like, it doesn’t matter how the f–k they look, but I actually care,” Armstrong shared.

“Like, I actually liked my original banana, and I thought it was adorable,” she added. “And you just put the ugliest piece of s–t on my body ever that I have to live with.”

The new banana tattoo doesn’t much resemble a banana. One commenter likened it to a “sock puppet with ears,” while another exclaimed, “It’s a dolphin with wings!”

She is unhappy with the work, as it barely looks like the original. Marie Armstrong TikTok

Armstrong hopes it will fade fast — once it scabs, she plans to peel it immediately.

She said her boyfriend messaged the shop owner, who promised to redo it when it fades.

“I don’t know if I’m gonna go back and let him fix it for me, or if I’m just gonna go back to my original artist, who I should have never cheated on in the first place,” Armstrong mused. “But yeah, so I have the world’s ugliest banana tattoo on my finger.”

A 2023 survey found that 1 in 4 Americans regret at least one of their tattoos. The types of ink they lamented the most are script/lettering (19%), symbol (16%), name (12%), animal (10%), and tribal (9%). Bananas and other fruit did not come out on top.

One inked-up TikToker in her mid-30s, for one, declared that she no longer likes the tattoos she selected in her 20s.

“Imagine if you will, you put a shirt on once when you were in your 20s, and now you have to wear that for the rest of your life,” she argued last year.