NBA

Zion Williamson weight ‘concern’ escalates into Stephen A. Smith-Pelicans war

A truce between Stephen A. Smith and the Pelicans doesn’t appear to be within sight.

The online feud between parties continued Monday, with the ESPN personality addressing the team directly on “The Stephen A. Smith Show” after days-old comments regarding forward Zion Williamson’s weight ignited a social media war, with the Pelicans roasting Smith over his 1.5 points per game average at Winston-Salem State during the 1990-91 season.

“It doesn’t bother you that you troll me, I can take it,” Smith began in a 10-minute video shared Monday on his X page.

Warning: Explicit language

“You see, do you realize at Division II Winston-Salem State, I could have been on the court averaging 20-to-25 [points] a game and I still wouldn’t compare to a single one of y’all who made it to the NBA? Do you understand that I know that no matter how you gloss over anything, meaning myself or anybody else, I don’t compare to y’all?”

Smith then stated their stats “are wrong,” expounding on an injury during his college playing days.

“I was hurt… 1989, I cracked my kneecap in half. They told me I might never be able to walk the same again, and even though I maintained my scholarship, I was nothing more than a practice player because I couldn’t run up and down the court more than three or four times without limping. How do we know this? Because I’m 56 and I still limp after running for a little while.” Smith said.

The “First Take” host then pivoted back to the organization and Williamson, 23.

Stephen A. Smith spoke about the New Orleans Pelicans on Monday's edition of "The Stephen A. Smith Show."
Stephen A. Smith spoke about the New Orleans Pelicans on Monday’s edition of “The Stephen A. Smith Show.” The Stephen A. Smith Show/X

“I couldn’t shine Zion’s shoes, nor C.J. McCollum, nor Brandon Ingram, nor any of them, that’s what y’all in the NBA and I’m not,” Smith said.

He then dove into the franchise, which currently sits at 34-24, and their lack of postseason success.

“You are in your 22nd season in New Orleans, since your relocation from Charlotte. Ladies and gentlemen, do you know that by being named the Hornets and then the Pelicans, you have as many names as you do playoff series victories in 22 years?” Smith said.

“You have won two playoff series in 22 freaking years. You have the same amount of playoff series victories as you do names. And you talking about me? At least I’m not robbing the public by getting paid. For not doing what I’m supposed to be doing, which is win!”

Zion Williamson in action for the Pelicans on Feb. 25, 2024.
Zion Williamson in action for the Pelicans on Feb. 25, 2024. Getty Images

Smith then circled back to Williamson while addressing former NBA player-turned-Pelicans analyst Antonio Daniels, who called the ESPN star’s initial remarks “inappropriate and lazy.”

“I was joking around about Zion Williamson not eating too much. We need him healthy, on a good diet so he’s strong and he’s powerful. I did not imply that he’s not doing it now, I said it as a concern, Antonio Daniels, I said it as a concern, New Orleans Pelicans. I was half-joking because I’m rooting for the kid and I’m rooting for the franchise,” Smith said.

Currently sixth in the Western Conference, the Pelicans have dropped two straight games since Friday, when the barb-fest with Smith began.

“Stop worrying about Stephen A. Smith, there were those before me, and there will be those after me, what do you think they’re going to say about you if you continue to be this futile? Get it together,” Smith said.

Despite Smith’s urging to focus on actual NBA adversaries, the Pelicans responded to his video Monday on X, posting a meme of three messages that read, “I ain’t watching all that,” “I’m happy for u tho” and “or sorry that happened.”

The Knicks (35-23) host the Pelicans on Tuesday night.