NFL

A.J. Brown calls Philadelphia sports radio to clear air on Eagles future, Jalen Hurts rift: ‘Total BS’

A.J. Brown called into a Philadelphia sports talk radio station to clear the air about where he stands with the Eagles.

After the Eagles had an inexplicable collapse this season, there has been much speculation about the wideout’s happiness with both the team and quarterback Jalen Hurts, and whether he will force his way out of Philadelphia.

Friday afternoon, Brown called into WIP’s afternoon drive show with Ike Reese and Jack Fritz and said that it is his intention to return.

Eagles wideout A.J. Brown called into WIP in Philadelphia to clear the air.
Eagles wideout A.J. Brown called into WIP in Philadelphia to clear the air. Getty Images

“I have no problem,” Brown said.

“I want to be here, it’s as simple as that. I love where I’m at, it’s as simple as that. Next question.”

“I’m the person you need on this team because I am willing to hold people accountable, make people around me better,” Brown said later. “But nobody sees that. All you see is the little flare ups…Nobody in that building works harder than me, I can stand on that and say that.”

Brown also called fake news on the idea that there was a “rift” between himself and Hurts.

“I think that is BS,” Brown said.

“I’m not going to get into me and his relationship on the air. It’s total BS. it wasn’t a problem when I was on my six-game streak. They only started talking about that when we started losing.”

He also called out the radio station, asking the hosts, “What’s the deal? You guys are supposed to be supporting Philly but it don’t turn out to be that. Like, why make up so many rumors, because most of the rumors don’t even be real rumors. These are rumors that you make up, and everybody runs with.”

A.J. Brown and Jalen Hurts.
A.J. Brown and Jalen Hurts. AP

Brown told the hosts that he thought their show was too “negative”, while Reese, a former Eagles linebacker, pushed back, saying that their show hasn’t pushed any “rumors” about the Eagles but that fans want to know why the team nosedived after starting out 10-1.

While he said that there weren’t major issues in the locker room, Brown did believe that players deserved more of the blame that went to the coaches for the Eagles’ late season swoon.

“Yeah, the locker room was fine,” Brown said. “Players wasn’t executing, that’s what it came down to. I think the media kind of ran with the coaches…It was the players not executing.”