MLB

Mets’ Adam Ottavino overhauling pickoff move to combat pitch-clock changes

PORT ST. LUCIE — Adam Ottavino spent the offseason studying doubles prevention.

In this case, it meant working on a better pickoff move to first base that would help stop opponents from turning a single or walk into a double.

Last season, the Mets reliever struggled holding base runners, following MLB’s implementation of the pitch clock.

New York Mets relief pitcher Adam Ottavino
New York Mets relief pitcher Adam Ottavino is working on his pickoff move. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

Ottavino could no longer just hold the ball or step off the rubber repeatedly to upset the runner’s timing.

The veteran right-hander discovered he was moving his hands before the rest of his body, costing himself tenths-of-a-second in his pickoff throws.

He has also begun utilizing a pickoff move that resembles his delivery in terms of moving parts.

Ottavino displayed his new pickoff move Wednesday, throwing three times to first base during a live batting practice session at Clover Park.

“Before, I was kicking my back foot out really far,” Ottavino said. “I wasn’t turning in a tight enough circle, so that’s just a tiny turn wider, but it’s going to take a little longer. So just trying to turn into a really tight circle.”

Ottavino doesn’t have the data on his pickoff throws from last season but suspects he averaged 1.3 or 1.4 seconds.

The goal, he said, is to average about 1.0 seconds.

“Once I figured that out, it gave me something to shoot for,” Ottavino said. “So I have been timing my pickoffs all offseason, even though it wasn’t quite as real as it was today. But still throwing it to somebody at my gym and having somebody time me, videotaping the mechanics to make sure I am doing everything I can in the proper technique.”

Ottavino said he studied Zack Greinke, Johnny Cueto, Taijuan Walker and Charlie Morton among pitchers who are successful in controlling base runners.

Adam Ottavino running drills during spring training.
Adam Ottavino running drills during spring training. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

“Everybody has such a high percentage of being safe now, it’s not so much that guys are getting thrown out at a crazy rate when those guys are pitching,” Ottavino said. “It’s just that people aren’t attempting [to steal]. My goal is to limit the attempts, and the only way that will happen is by threat of them getting picked off.

“I don’t think being uber-fast to the plate is going to stop them from going, because the odds are still in their favor and they’ll be able to pick the right moment and go.

“But I think if they are worried about getting picked off … maybe I will put a little doubt in their mind that they can’t get as big a lead and they can’t get as much momentum leaning.”