NFL

Justin Fields reveals why he unfollowed Bears on social media as Caleb Williams rumors swirl

Justin Fields just needed a break from the news.

After unfollowing the Bears on Instagram with rumors everywhere about Chicago potentially moving on from him, Fields downplayed the tactic, saying it was nothing more than him needing space from all the chatter.

“Man, bro, I’m glad we’re talking about it because why do people take social media so serious? I still mess with the Bears, I’m just trying to take a little break,” Fields said Wednesday afternoon in a chat with NFL brothers Amon-Ra and Equanimeous St. Brown for The 33rd Team. “I unfollowed the Bears and the NFL, I’m not just trying to have football on my timeline.”

We live in an era where following or unfollowing accounts becomes a news story, and Fields created some headlines by unfollowing the team that is considering trading him.

The Bears own the No. 1 pick in the 2024 NFL Draft and have their choice of landing any of the top three quarterbacks, headlined by USC Heisman Trophy winner Caleb Williams.

Justin Fields discusses un-following the Bears. @AdamSchefter/X

If Chicago drafts Williams, it likely means Fields is sent packing.

The Falcons are currently favored to employ Fields in 2024, according to DraftKings.

The unfollowing could be seen as Fields showcasing his frustration with the Bears, but he instead equated it to the courting of a romantic partner.

Justin Fields may have played his last game with the Bears. Getty Images
USC quarterback Caleb Williams. Getty Images

“I know ya’ll mess with a girl — (Equanimeous), especially you — just because you don’t follow the girl on (Instagram) don’t mean you not messing with them,” Fields said.

“It’s not even like that. It’s something that I don’t want to see on my timeline, I’m about to go on vacation, I don’t want to see no football, and guess what? It’s either keep Fields, we want Fields or draft Caleb. I’m tired of hearing the talk. I just want it to be over.”

Perhaps by the time Fields returns from vacation, he’ll have some clarity over whether the Bears would like to continue their partnership with him.