Sports Entertainment

Braxton Berrios responds to ‘very mean girl’ on TikTok over Dolphins future

Braxton Berrios and his girlfriend, Alix Earle couldn’t help but laugh about a rumor that he was “dropped” by the Dolphins.

The Super Bowl champion receiver, who played for Miami on a one-year deal last season, discussed his playing future during the latest installment of Earle’s “Hot Mess” podcast, and clarified that he was not released, and is set to become a free agent in March.

“Another question I feel like we see on the internet, which we can clarify for everyone — this girl, the one who always makes the videos, that’s always very mean, she was like, ‘Braxton Berrios got dropped from the Dolphins’,” Earle said, to which Berrios laughed.

Braxton Berrios and Alix Earle on her “Hot Mess” podcast. YouTube/Hot Mess

“Oh yeah, well also my [Instagram] post, after every season… you basically do a recap of the season post… post all the pictures with your teammates.

“… I do it every year, and I guess this one, because of whatever — everybody was like, ‘Oh my God, he’s done. He’s not coming back.'”

The post Berrios referred to was the one he shared on Instagram Jan. 25, after the Chiefs’ 26-7 romp of the Dolphins in the wild-card game a week prior.

“I hated to see this one end,” Berrios wrote, including a collage of photos from the 2023 season. “This year was one I’ll forever be grateful for, I got to come back to the city I call home and play for my childhood team.

“I’m thankful for all my guys I got to share the field with, and everybody else in that building that made coming to work everyday fun. Fins up.”

Braxton Berrios and Alix Earle on her “Hot Mess” podcast. YouTube/Hot Mess

During Earle’s podcast, Berrios went on to explain that his one-year deal with Miami expired and he will become a free agent in March.

“Now anything can happen,” he said. “I can obviously very well go back to the Dolphins, I can go somewhere else. But the fact of the matter is, all of that — not dropped, entering free agency, [and] so is 20 percent of NFL players.

“It’s just part of how it goes when your contract is up with that team.”

Braxton Berrios and Alix Earle and at Michael Rubin’s Fanatics Super Bowl Party on February 10, 2024. C Flanigan/imageSPACE / MEGA
Miami Dolphins wide receiver Braxton Berrios (0) catches the football against New York Jets cornerback Michael Carter II (30) during the second quarter at Hard Rock Stadium on December 17, 2023. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

Berrios said he will know where he will play next season by “early to mid-March” and he was glad he clarified the matter.

“We’ll check back in with you guys where Braxton will be,” Earle said, adding that her dad even heard the rumor.

“I saw it everywhere,” Berrios said. “… I just said that this year was the most fun I’ve ever had, there was nothing else to that, but everyone took it and ran with it.”

Berrios signed with the Dolphins in March 2023, after four seasons with the Jets, posting 27 catches for 238 yards and a touchdown in Miami.