NFL

Adoree’ Jackson wants to play for Super Bowl contender as he hits free agency

Adoree’ Jackson wouldn’t say that he and the Giants are never, ever getting back together. 

Jackson, 28, is the Giants’ third-most prominent free agent, and cornerback is a position general manager Joe Schoen believes is worth premium investments — different from how he views running back (Saquon Barkley) and safety (Xavier McKinney), based on moves made during his first two offseasons. 

“I think it’s like when you and your girl are going through a tough time and everyone on the outside is looking for your downfall,” Jackson recently told The Post. “The Giants are going to look for another corner and another team is going to look for a corner, which is me. I want to be there, but this is our break period. Technically, I’m not on the team, but my locker is still in the facility, and I go over there when I stay out [in New Jersey].” 

Jackson graded out as one of the NFL’s No. 1-caliber cornerbacks in 2021 (No. 15 out of 116 overall) and 2022 (No. 31 out of 118), per Pro Football Focus.

But he made the team-first decision at the start of a contract year to move into the slot for the first time in his career to accommodate rookie Tre Hawkins. 

Adoree’ Jackson has a big decision to make in free agency. Charles Wenzelberg / New York Post

When Hawkins quickly was benched, Jackson didn’t receive a karmic reward.

He moved back to the outside and slid all the way to No. 117 out of 127. 

“If I come back, it’s all good,” Jackson said from Super Bowl LVIII Radio Row, where he promoted the fashion styling of VeronicaClarkeOnly.com. “If I don’t, is it going to hurt? It will, but I know it’s a business. 

“At the same time, I know what I can do and the services that I bring to an organization — not just on the field, but being a locker-room presence and different things around the community. I’m hopeful [to be back], but you can never put anything past anybody.” 

The Giants need to add a starting cornerback of at least Jackson’s caliber to pair with 2023 first-round pick Deonte Banks, since none of their other youngsters have proven ready to step in.

Jackson is projected to receive a one-year, $7 million contract by PFF — perhaps to prove he can get back to the form of his first two seasons with the Giants — but he has reached the point in his career where playing for a contender enters the free-agent equation. 

“I want to win a Super Bowl, and I know the Giants are capable of winning because we saw [in the 2022 playoff run] that it was a possibility. It boils down to the pieces and the staff being on the same page and doing the right thing to help us get there,” Jackson said. 

“That’s a tough one because I know a lot of great players who never won a Super Bowl. You think as a kid that you want to sign somewhere and get all this money. I didn’t grow up having money. Anything you can get, you can appreciate. I’ve been able to play in this league and do things I never even sought out to do. I just love to play and want to win, but I have good faith that time will come.” 

Adoree’ Jackson is hoping to get back into the form he had when he first joined
the Giants. Robert Sabo for NY Post

The Titans released Jackson in March 2021, just a few weeks after head coach Mike Vrabel promoted longtime understudy Shane Bowen to defensive coordinator. 

Bowen now is the Giants’ defensive coordinator, replacing player-favorite Wink Martindale.

Both Bowen and Martindale are understudies of Dean Pees, whom Jackson played under. 

Adoree’ Jackson tackles Saints wide receiver A.T. Perry during a game last season. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

“Players are hitting me up, ‘How is he?’ I couldn’t tell you because I knew Shane as a linebackers coach,” Jackson said. “I tell players his scheme might be 3-4 [formation], stop the run and play a lot of quarters [zone coverage]. It depends what Shane wants his identity to be, and if he wants to combine from both [Pees’ and Vrabel’s systems]. Every style works if you let the players have input. Wink asked the players, ‘How do you see it? Play it your way.’ ” 

Unlike linebacker Bobby Okereke, Jackson hasn’t yet heard from Bowen. 

“If he reaches out, cool. If he doesn’t, it doesn’t bother me,” Jackson said. “When I got released from Tennessee, none of my coaches called me. I’m going to be good, always.”