MLB

Mets third base hopeful Mark Vientos looking to turn up the ‘power’

PORT ST. LUCIE — Mark Vientos was on the field Tuesday morning for a workout when he got the opportunity to interact with his new manager.

Carlos Mendoza’s message to the 24-year-old third baseman?

Keep in mind what had gotten him to the major leagues.

“I am a power hitter, I can hit the ball [hard],” Vientos said. “That was what was going through my head, so I was like, ‘OK, just let me keep hitting home runs.’ ”

Vientos’ raw power is intriguing enough that team brass has resisted the temptation to add another bat to a lineup that has multiple question marks.

Last season, the Mets promoted Vientos from Triple-A Syracuse twice only to keep him on the bench for most of his first stint with the club.

A smiling Mark Vientos talks with the media during a workout. Corey Sipkin for the NY Post

Vientos saw more action upon his return to the major leagues in August, and finished with a .211/.253/.367 slash line with nine homers and 22 RBIs in 233 plate appearances.

“I thought I finished the season off strong,” Vientos said. “I thought the work I put in, the mindset, I thought I stayed focused. I still competed, I still learned and I got better. My overall thought on last year was that I improved, so I was happy with it.”

Now the Mets have him in a third-base competition with Brett Baty, but Vientos also figures into the DH mix. Vientos can also play first base as needed.

“I am obviously trying to quiet the noise, but there is a lot of noise that I will have the opportunity and I am excited for it,” Vientos said. “I worked really hard this offseason so I am prepared.

“I like playing a position, but wherever the team has me I’m here for it. I’m going to get better at playing third, I am going to get better at playing first and I am here for DH if they want me to DH.”

Vientos’ preparation included convening with Francisco Lindor, who invited Vientos to work out with him near the shortstop’s home in Orlando.

Mets third baseman Mark Vientos (left) shares a laugh with Francisco Lindor during a workout. Corey Sipkin for the NY Post

“Every game matters in the major leagues, we’re trying to win every game, so I was just picking his brain,” Vientos said. “He taught me a lot, and I was very fortunate he invited me out there and I got some work with him, so I was happy with that.”

Baty is regarded as the better defensive player, giving him the advantage at third base as next Monday’s initial full-squad workout approaches.

But if Vientos shows he’s closed the gap defensively it could lead to an interesting competition.

Mark Vientos prepares to take batting practice. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

Ronny Mauricio was another player who figured into the third-base competition as the offseason began, but the rookie underwent surgery after tearing the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee playing winter ball and isn’t expected to return before September.

The Mets also have veteran utility infielder Joey Wendle as a possibility to play third on a part-time basis if needed.

“There’s a lot of guys there,” Mendoza said. “But with Vientos, whether it’s third base or first base, there’s going to be a progression, there is going to be a plan in place there to make sure [Baty and Vientos] are both getting reps in games.”

Vientos compared getting to know Mendoza to a senior returning to high school and becoming comfortable with a new teacher.

Already, Vientos has been in camp for over a week, even though position players don’t have to report until Monday.

“I was kind of having doubts, like if this is too early,” Vientos said. “But, no, this is what I love to do. I have been out here already and I have been excited and I can’t wait until the games start.”