NFL

Travis Kelce, Patrick Mahomes showered with boos by 49ers fans before Super Bowl 2024

They’re not in Kansas City anymore.

Chiefs superstars Patrick Mahomes and Travis Kelce were showered with boos from 49ers fans on Monday during the Super Bow 2024 “Opening Night” festivities at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas.

When speaking on a platform inside the stadium next to 49ers tight end George Kittle, Kelce, 34, paused mid-sentence as the jeers intensified.

“Y’all are firing me up, you’re making me want to play right now, baby,” said the All-Pro tight end, who is chasing his third Super Bowl win with the Chiefs.

“I love the boos more than I love the cheers, baby. Keep ’em coming Niners gang, keep ’em coming.”

49ers faithful also set their sights on Mahomes, 28, who spoke alongside San Francisco quarterback Brock Purdy.

Travis Kelce reacts to boos from 49ers fans during Super Bowl Opening Night on Feb. 5, 2024. NFL/X
The Chiefs tight end stood on a platform next to 49ers tight end George Kittle. Getty Images

“I appreciate it, Niners Nation. We’re here,” Mahomes told the crowd.

Mahomes, who is making his fourth Super Bowl appearance in five seasons, recently spoke to ESPN’s Jeff Darlington about the narrative of being in the “villain” era.

“I can definitely sense it. I never felt like that because I’ve never been like that in my entire life. But it’s become a little bit funny. I don’t want to say you enjoy it. I know the Patriots had that for a while. I’m hoping we do it in a different way with a little bit more fun and personality with it. But as long as you keep winning, teams start to not like you, and I want to keep winning. So if that means some of the other teams and other fan bases aren’t going to like me, I’ll try to still have a smile on my face and not be a bad example, but I can be that villain for them if they need me to be,” the Chiefs quarterback said.

49ers quarterback Brock Purdy and Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes during Super Bowl Opening Night on Feb. 5, 2024. Getty Images
The Chiefs are looking to defend their Super Bowl title against the 49ers in Super Bowl 2024 on Feb. 11, 2024. AP

The Patriots won six Super Bowls during the Bill Belichick-Tom Brady reign, which concluded in 2020 when Brady joined the Buccaneers for the final three seasons of his career.

Just like Kelce, Mahomes is seeking his third championship win for Kansas City.

The quarterback-tight end duo won their first Super Bowl together in February 2020 after defeating the 49ers, 31-20.

They won last February in a thrilling 38-35 victory over the Eagles.

The Chiefs will look to defend their Super Bowl title against the 49ers on Sunday in Super Bowl 2024.