Music

Toby Keith reflected on his ‘roller coaster’ cancer journey before his death at 62

Toby Keith got candid about his stomach cancer months before his death at the age of 62.

The country singer died surrounded by his family on Feb. 5

In September, he told E! News at the People’s Choice Country Awards that his illness was “a little bit of a roller coaster.”

“You get good days and, you know, you’re up and down, up and down,” he added.

“It’s always zero to 60 and 60 to zero, but I feel good today.”

The “Blue Moon” crooner’s family announced his passing on Monday, writing in a statement that he died “peacefully.”

“He fought his fight with grace and courage. Please respect the privacy of his family at this time,” the note read on X, formerly Twitter.

Keith publicly revealed his stomach cancer diagnosis in 2022 and previously underwent chemotherapy and radiation. He opened up about his condition via Instagram at the time.

toby Keith
Keith passed away on Feb. 5 due to stomach cancer. ExclusiveAccess/Shutterstock

“Last fall I was diagnosed with stomach cancer,” he wrote. “I’ve spent the last 6 months receiving chemo, radiation and surgery.”

“So far, so good. I need time to breathe, recover and relax. I am looking forward to spending this time with my family,” he went on. “But I will see the fans sooner than later. I can’t wait.”

Follow along with The Post's coverage of Toby Keith's death

Last year, Keith told the Oklahoman that he spent the first half of the year in chemo.

“I’m feeling pretty good . . . I’m about another eight weeks from my last scan. So, I expect next time I look for that tumor to be even less — and I’ve only got one that’s shown up,” he said.

toby Keith
The country singer announced he had stomach cancer in 2021. ASSOCIATED PRESS

The “Bullets in the Gun” singer continued: “Basically, everything is in a real positive trend. You never know with cancer, so you have to prepare. But my goal is, I feel better; I’ve got more wind.”

Keith’s last concert was on Dec. 14 in Las Vegas at the Park MGM.

He had two previous shows on Dec. 10 and 11 — and all three concerts were sold out. He celebrated the turnout via Instagram Dec. 28, calling the shows “a damn good way to end the year.”

Keith is survived by his wife, Tricia Lucus, and their three children Shelley, Krystal and Stelen. He also leaves behind four grandchildren.