NFL

Bill Belichick turned down Falcons coaching offer: Boomer Esiason

Bill Belichick might not have been without a head-coaching offer after all.

The legendary ex-Patriots coach reportedly interviewed with the Falcons twice but was not hired, and did not land with any of the other teams with vacancies.

Though he is 71 years old, the lack of interest in Belichick was somewhat surprising given his resume.

Bill Belichick didn’t land a head-coaching job after parting ways with the Patriots. Getty Images

But WFAN host and former NFL quarterback Boomer Esiason claims it was actually Belichick who wasn’t interested in the Falcons, and that owner Arthur Blank made him an offer.

Follow along with The Post's coverage of Bill Belichick's career after the Patriots

“I was told yesterday, and I do believe it from the source that I got it from, that supposedly Arthur Blank was bought in to Bill Belichick and could have offered him the job,” Esiason said on his “Boomer and Gio” show on Monday.

“I don’t know why guys say no, but legitimately an NFL executive basically told me that they believe that Arthur Blank offered Bill the job. Now there may have been some caveats to that offer, you never know, it’s never ‘OK Bill, I want you, here’s a five-year contract, you do whatever you want.’ I don’t think it was one of those.”

The Falcons instead hired Raheem Morris, who was serving as the Rams’ defensive coordinator, as their new head coach to succeed Arthur Smith.

“The way it was made and sounded to me was like ‘OK, I understand your concerns, but you’re gonna have to deal with some of this and we want you to come in, we want you to be the coach,’ and then maybe he just thought better of it,” Esiason said.

Falcons owner Arthur Blank reportedly made Bill Belichick an offer for head coach. Getty Images
Boomer Esiason speaks on his “Boomer and Gio” WFAN show on Monday. Screengrab

“And just maybe he said ‘You know what? I don’t want to go right back in. I want a year away. I want to see what happens,’ because as we know there will be about five or six job openings next year, and there may be a better situation where an owner says ‘you know what? I wanna go down this path with you and I want you to take my building over and I want you to run it the way that you ran it with the New England Patriots.'”