NBA

Knicks’ Isaiah Hartenstein playing himself into big payday

Isaiah Hartenstein has proved to himself and any doubters that he can produce big numbers while logging heavy minutes in the NBA over an extended stretch for the first time in his six-year career.

The Knicks’ center also admitted Saturday, before a 113-105 loss to the Lakers, the timing couldn’t be better for his career, with unrestricted free agency looming this summer.

Hartenstein, who has been thrust into a larger role since Mitchell Robinson underwent ankle surgery in December, reiterated that he hopes his next contract allows him to remain with the Knicks.

“Yeah, it’s great timing, I can’t lie about that, but at the end of the day, I love it here in New York,” Hartenstein said before scoring six points and grabbing 15 rebounds in the Knicks’ loss.

“The plan would be to stay, but at the end of the day, you can’t predict what’s going to happen. So you have to just go game-by-game.

Isaiah Hartenstein, who scored six points and grabs 15 rebounds, looks to shoot over Anthony Davis during the Knicks' 113-105 win over the Lakers.
Isaiah Hartenstein, who scored six points and grabs 15 rebounds, looks to shoot over Anthony Davis during the Knicks’ 113-105 win over the Lakers. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

“But I love New York, I love the fans, I think it’s something special. And I love winning, I think that’s the biggest thing.”

The Knicks are 15-3 since Jan. 1 and were riding a nine-game winning streak before it was snapped Saturday night.

The 25-year-old Hartenstein was averaging 8.5 points, 12.5 rebounds and 1.5 blocked shots in 32 minutes while appearing in 15 of the previous 17 games before Saturday.

The Knicks, who signed Hartenstein to a two-year deal worth $16 million via free agency in 2022, own his “Early Bird” rights, meaning they can exceed the salary cap to re-sign him.

Hartenstein missed two games in January with a lingering Achilles issue, but his increased playing time will continue for the foreseeable future, although the Knicks have not ruled out a return by Robinson later in the season.

Isaiah Hartenstein looks to block Austin Reaves' shot during the Knicks' loss to the Lakers.
Isaiah Hartenstein looks to block Austin Reaves’ shot during the Knicks’ loss to the Lakers. AP

“I feel like in the past I’ve had times where I’ve played minutes like this, but I don’t think it was ever over a consistent two-month span. I guess I’m just proving that I can be a starter in the NBA. I think I’ve done that,” Hartenstein said.

“And us still winning is a part of that. I feel like you can be a starter, you can have great stats on a losing team, but it doesn’t really mean much. So just being in that starting role and playing heavy minutes on a winning team, I think that says a lot.”


OG Anunoby missed his fourth straight with right elbow inflammation, while Quentin Grimes was out for a second straight game with a sprained right knee.

Tom Thibodeau said Grimes has been “doing a bit more” on the court, but both players remain day-to-day.