NFL

Eagles’ A.J. Brown out for playoff game against Buccaneers in injury blow

The Eagles will be without their leading receiver for their first-round playoff game against the Buccaneers.

A.J. Brown will miss Monday night’s game with a sprained knee that he sustained in Philadelphia’s Week 18 game against the Giants, ESPN’s Adam Schefter reports.

Brown could potentially return if the Eagles advance to the divisional round, the report said.

This news comes a day after Brown deleted his X account and removed references to the Eagles from his Instagram page.

Brown, 26, caught 106 balls for 1,456 yards and seven touchdowns in the regular season.

The Eagles traded a first-round pick and third-round pick to the Titans for Brown during the 2022 offseason, and immediately signed the wide receiver to a four-year contract worth $100 million.

A.J. Brown will miss the Eagles' playoff game against the Bucs on Monday night.
A.J. Brown will miss the Eagles’ playoff game against the Bucs on Monday night. Getty Images

Earlier this month, Brown was accused of being a “locker room poison” in a Philadelphia Inquirer report, and called the story “bulls–t”.

“At this point, I don’t care. They’re going to create whatever narrative that I’m splitting the locker room and all this s–t,” Brown told reporters.

“That’s bulls–t. Honestly, I’m kind of glad, what’s his name? What’s that reporter’s name? Marcus [Hayes].

“I’m kind of glad he’s not here because I was gonna ask him because I wanted to know, like, who’s saying that? Because I was going to ask him because I want to know who’s saying that, because I know my teammates are riding for me and I’m riding for them.”

A.J. Brown removed all references to the Eagles on his Instagram page this week.
A.J. Brown removed all references to the Eagles on his Instagram page this week. Getty Images

The Eagles enter the playoffs as wounded animals.

The team lost five of its final six games, as both sides of the ball have sputtered.

Nevertheless, even with the losing streak and Brown’s injury, the Eagles are favored by a field goal in Tampa on Monday night.