NFL

Bryce Huff ‘not giving any discount’ to Jets as free agency approaches

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. — Bryce Huff’s contract push finished with a flurry Sunday.

The Jets’ edge rusher sacked Patriots quarterback Bailey Zappe twice in the Jets’ 17-3 win to finish with 10 sacks this season.

That is a career-high and comes two months before he is scheduled to become a free agent.

Huff said he is going to do what is right for him and that means the Jets won’t get any preferential treatment when it comes to his contract.

“I’m not giving any discount,” Huff said. “I worked so hard. I feel like I owe it to myself and my family and the people around me to maximize my earnings. I’m definitely open to every scenario and every team. I just want to do what’s best for me at the end of the day.”

Bryce Huff ends the 2023 season with a career-high 10 sacks.
Bryce Huff ends the 2023 season with a career-high 10 sacks. Getty

Huff entered the game with eight sacks. He said he knew coming into the game that he wanted to get to double digits.

“I would have hated to leave the season at eight or nine,” Huff said. “I definitely had to make it happen today.”

Bryce Huff in pursuit on New England Patriots quarterback bailey Zappe, who he sacked twice in Week 18.
Bryce Huff in pursuit of New England Patriots quarterback Bailey Zappe, who he sacked twice in Week 18. AP

Many Jets fans surely are upset the Jets won this game because of what it did to their position in the NFL draft.

They were in position to draft seventh entering Sunday and could have moved up to fifth if they lost and other results occurred.

Instead, the Jets will now draft No. 10 overall.

They are expected to be in the market for an offensive tackle.


The Jets’ 2024 opponents are now set. The order they play them will be announced in the spring. Here are their opponents:

Home: Bills, Patriots, Dolphins, Texans, Colts, Rams, Seahawks, Broncos

Away: Bills, Patriots, Dolphins, Jaguars, Titans, Cardinals, 49ers, Steelers, Vikings


This was the first time the Jets won in Foxborough since the 2010 Divisional Playoff win.

They had lost their last 12 games at Gillette Stadium. … This was the Jets first road win over a divisional opponent since they beat the Bills in the 2019 season finale, snapping a streak of 11 division road losses.


WR Allen Lazard was a healthy scratch on Sunday for the second time this season. The Jets gave Lazard a four-year, $44 million contract in the offseason.

“I’ll sit here and put a guarantee on it that he’ll have a hell of a lot better 2024 than ’23,” Jets coach Robert Saleh said. “He’s made of the right stuff, he’s built the right way and he’s going to attack it and he’s going to find a way to get better.”