NFL

Garrett Wilson’s wasted Jets season has taken its toll on him: Will ‘be thankful for it’

MIAMI GARDENS, Fla. — Another wasted Sunday for Garrett Wilson. Another wasted season.

Of course it has taken a toll on him.

“Yeah man, I ain’t gonna fake it. I’ll look back in 10 years from now and be thankful for it, that’s how I see it,” Wilson said after the Dolphins’ 30-0 win over the Jets.

For his sake, you hope it takes less time than 10 years.

When he was reminded that he wasn’t targeted until the third quarter, he said: “I’m aware.”

Wilson caught his first pass midway through the third quarter. Then he caught a second. Then he caught a third. Then the drive ended with an interception.

New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson (17) runs after juking a defender following his reception during the game between the New York Jets and the Miami Dolphins
New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson runs after juking a defender following his reception during the game between the New York Jets and the Miami Dolphins. Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

“I guess I gotta fix it, I gotta figure out how I can get involved in the first quarter … starting practice fast, I don’t know, I gotta show something, I gotta do something, I don’t know,” he said. “But they had a good plan for us, they did a good job getting after us. I don’t know, I gotta figure it out.”

Offensive coordinator Nathaniel Hackett had got to figure it out. Told that Allen Lazard said the Jets were out-schemed, Wilson said: “If Allen said it, probably true. I love Allen.”

Tyreek Hill didn’t play and Jaylen Waddle (8-142-1 TD) erupted.

“They have a lot of pieces in their favor that make it easier to scheme,” Wilson said. “Reek goes down, they put Waddle in there, he goes for 150. That’s the ball I grew up loving. But that’s not how it’s going right now, I gotta figure it out — run better routes, be better in the meeting room to figure out how I can be involved early, and how we can win games.”

He was asked about cornerback Jalen Ramsey.

“I’m sure he’s over there in the locker room kicking it,” Wilson said.

He finished with three receptions for 29 yards and appeared beside himself at times.

“A lot of times it comes off like I’m saying something, but reality of it is I just talk with a lot of emotion sometimes especially when I’m playing a game I love,” he said.

He was somehow able to play played the good soldier.

“Practice all week, practice your whole life, and you go out there and play like this, it’s disappointing,” Wilson said. “We gotta get to the drawing board and figure it out.

“You do it for Sunday.”