Olympics

Simone Biles: I ‘never thought I would compete again’ after Olympics nightmare

Simone Biles is grateful to be on the comeback trail.

In the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo (which actually occurred in 2021), Biles withdrew from the competition after suffering a terrifying bout with the “twisties.”

In a recent interview with PEOPLE, the 26-year-old Biles revealed she thought these struggles marked the end of her decorated gymnastics career.

“It honestly feels amazing to return to competition, I never thought I would compete again so this is a blessing,” Biles told the outlet. “My favorite moment has been competing alongside my WCC teammates.”

Biles returned to competition earlier this year, taking gold in the women’s all-around at the World Championships this past October.

Biles won four gold medals at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Simone Biles revealed that she thought she’d ‘never compete again’ after a horrifying bout with the twisties at the Olympics in Tokyo. AFP via Getty Images
Simone Biles won four gold medals at the 2016 Olympics in Brazil. AFP via Getty Images

In the summer of 2021, Biles opened up during an Instagram Q&A about what she was experiencing with the twisties.

“It’s the craziest feeling ever. Not having an inch of control over your body. What’s even scarier is since I have no idea where I am in the air, I also have NO idea how I am going to land. Or what I am going to land on. Head/hands/feet back…,” she wrote at the time.

“It’s honestly petrifying trying to do a skill but not having your mind & body in sync,” she continued, adding, “10/10 do not recommend.”

“The twisties” is a condition among gymnasts described as a loss of control of their bodies as they make twists through the air. Gymnasts who experience “the twisties” involuntarily create an additional twist when they had not planned to, or they could even stop midway through their routine without warning.

Biles married Packers defensive back Jonathan Owens earlier this year.

Simone Biles of the U.S. celebrates during the medal ceremony after winning the floor exercise at the women’s apparatus finals during the 2023 World Championships. REUTERS
Simone Biles is married to Packers defensive back Jonathan Owens. Getty Images

“I’ve never been so nervous before in my life. [But,] I felt confident walking down the aisle. Seeing Jonathan at the altar was a dream. Our guests were cheering for everyone. I was shocked by the love in the air. The ceremony was so beautiful and dreamy!” Biles recalled to Vogue.

She was in attendance at Lambeau Field last Sunday night when the Packers notched an upset victory over the defending champion Chiefs.