Sports Entertainment

Paige Spiranac dragged into Scott Baio social media tiff: ‘What a world’

It’s not very often that a social media beef ends so civilly, but perhaps the rest of the internet can learn a thing or two from Paige Spiranac and Scott Baio. 

In one of the more random tiffs to spring up, actor Scott Baio — best known for playing Chachi on the hit 1970s sitcom “Happy Days” — and golf influencer Paige Spiranac had a brief dustup. 

At least part of it seemed to stem from at least one since-deleted X post by Baio in which he was responding to a video of a woman at a driving range wearing tight clothing.

Based on subsequent posts, Baio said he was told the woman in the video was Spiranac, and the original poster had been trying to “drag” his golfer daughter Bailey. 

Spiranac became aware of the post by the actor and reposted it with the caption: “Add Scott Baio to the list of people I never thought I would have beef with. What a world.”

Less than a half hour later, Baio responded with a mea culpa for his post and explained the situation to the former professional golfer. 

Paige Sprianac got into a random beef with Scott Baio. Instagram

“My apologies. Someone posted a video saying it was you and attempted to drag my minor daughter (a junior golfer) and I defended myself,” Baio wrote. “I apologize as I don’t know you or the other woman from the video. I have no problem admitting when I am wrong.”

Spiranac replied to the apology a short while later with a show of respect by accepting the apology and expressing understanding to Baio over the circumstances. 

“I appreciate your apology. I understand how protective you must feel of your daughter,” Spiranac wrote. “I played junior golf at a high level, in college and as well pro for a little. If your daughter ever needs any golf advice let me know! I learned a lot through out my golf career especially during the recruiting process for college. Always happy to help!” 

Scott Baio then apologized for the misunderstanding. Getty Images

Baio replied with a thank you, and by 3:43 p.m., Spiranac declared that her beef with Baio had ended.

“I’m sure you were all on the edge of your seat.” she wrote. 

Spiranac is no stranger to controversy and has had her fair share of critics over her perceived risque brand. 

It’s not the first time Paige Spiranac has found herself in the middle of a something on social media. Instagram

The former college and pro golfer has become one of the world’s biggest golf influencers and is known for her unconventional golf attire, which has drawn criticism from some of the sport’s more traditional fans. 

She recently had to defend herself after she shared a post on Instagram of her in a mini skirt that bared “booty cleavage,” causing a stir.