NBA

James Harden finally reveals why he called Daryl Morey a ‘liar’

James Harden has clarified his rift with Daryl Morey in an expansive new interview.

This past summer, Harden called Morey a “liar” and forced his way from the 76ers to the Clippers in a deal that materialized shortly after the NBA regular season started.

In an interview with The Athletic, Harden mentioned that he had made financial and role sacrifices in recent years, and interviewer Sam Amick pressed on whether he was “actually told by the Sixers that you had a deal coming.”

Harden confirmed that the organization said he had a “max” deal coming, and Amick asked if this was said by Morey, to which Harden said, “Yes. Yes.”

Harden and Morey were together with the Rockets before the 76ers president brought the divisive guard to Philadelphia.

James Harden claims that Daryl Morey promised him a max contract before reneging.
James Harden claims that Daryl Morey promised him a max contract before reneging. Getty Images

“Yeah, me and Daryl had a really good relationship. So (in the past), a week or two after we lose in the playoffs, it would be all about trying to figure out how to improve the team. (They’d talk about) ‘How do we get better?’ And that’s been going on for 10-plus years, you know what I mean?” Harden said in the interview.

“And then this year, there was no communication. And at that point, it’s like, ‘OK, I see what’s going on.’ I’m very intelligent. So then I just figure out ‘What’s my next move, and what do I want to do?’ So I understand that, at the end of the day, this is a business. And just like he has to do what’s best for his organization, I’ve got to do what’s best for me and my family. It’s as simple as that.”

Harden also explained the distinction of why he exercised a player option in his Sixers deal this past offseason if he felt so much spite towards the franchise rather than choosing to become a free agent.

James Harden was traded from the Sixers to the Clippers in late October.
James Harden was traded from the Sixers to the Clippers in late October. NBAE via Getty Images

“It would have looked different for sure. The teams that are growing, or young, were gonna have the money, but that doesn’t make sense,” Harden said.

“And then the competitive teams don’t have the money. So all in all, it would have probably ended up with me looking Philly in the face again. So it was strategic, and people can talk and say (things), but they have no idea (without being) in this situation. Like I continue to say, I made the best decision for myself and my family.”

The Clippers are 5-8 since the Harden trade and the 34-year-old is averaging 15 points, four rebounds and six assists per game.

The 76ers are 12-7 and the No. 4 seed in the Eastern Conference.