US News

Upstate NY woman who ‘roughly’ changed diaper is charged with murder of boyfriend’s baby

An upstate New York woman has been indicted for the murder of her boyfriend’s baby after she admitted to shaking the infant and “roughly” changing his diaper.

Tiara Kelsea Allen, 26, of upstate St. Lawrence County, was arrested on July 13 for reckless assault of a child and endangering the welfare of a child, according to court documents Law and Crime published Monday.

The infant, named only as Conway, died the next month after suffering a bilateral subdural hematoma, or brain bleeding, the outlet reported.

A grand jury in the rural county that borders Canada handed up an indictment on Nov. 17 charging Allen with murder in the second degree, manslaughter in the second degree, and assault in the first degree, documents showed.

Allen’s initial statement to police indicated that she “caused Conway’s injuries.”

Tiara Kelsea Allen
Tiara Allen was charged with murder last month after admitting to shaking Conway, her boyfriend’s baby. St. Lawrence County Sheriffâs Office

“I took Conway out of the bassinet and put him on my bed. I went to the bathroom and when I came back Conway was fussy. I tried to settle him down and nothing was working,” Allen told cops.

“I picked up on Conway and took my anger out on him and I shouldn’t have. I picked him up with both hands and shook him back and forth out of frustration and anger.”

The suspect then went on to tell police she began to change the baby’s diaper and dress him for the day.

“When I changed his diaper he had pooped and it went up his back. I roughly changed Conway’s diaper by grabbing his legs and forcefully pushed up his legs to change him. I was frustrated and angry during this time,” the signed statement said.

allen
Allen initially told cops she “believed” she was responsible for the “fussy” baby’s injuries and “should have walked away” instead of shaking him. Tiara Kelsea Allen/Facebook

A short time later, the infant became “limb,” and Allen called 911 and told an operator that he was bleeding from his nose, according to her statement.

“I believe I caused Conway’s injuries. I should have walked away from the situation and come back to him later, but it’s hard when he’s fussy.”

Allen pleaded not guilty to the charges and cash bail was set at $250,000, records show. She is due in court next month for a hearing.