NFL

Garrett Wilson ‘not OK’ with product the Jets are putting on field

Garrett Wilson isn’t ready to buy into the woe-is-me feeling that seems to engulf every Jets season recently, but he is firm in the belief that things need to change offensively for the team to turn it around.

The Jets have dropped four straight games as things get more and more dire, especially on the offensive side of the ball.

And Wilson is well aware of that.

“As far as the way we’ve been playing, there’s losing and then there’s losing like we’ve lost is how we feel,” Wilson said during his weekly spot Tuesday on the “Bart & Hahn Show” on ESPN New York.

“We’ve got to fix that all around. … As far as the product we put on the field and the way we’ve gone down the last five, six weeks, whatever it’s been, I’m not OK with it. I know a lot of guys feel the same.”

The Jets’ offense has been plagued by mistakes and poor play all season.

They have scored two offensive touchdowns in a game only once all season, and they have failed to reach 200 total yards in each of their last two games.

Garrett Wilson catches a touchdown pass during the Jets' 34-13 loss to the Dolphins.
Garrett Wilson catches a touchdown pass during the Jets’ 34-13 loss to the Dolphins. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

Their 260.2 yards per game is second worst in the NFL and their 14.8 points per game the Jets have averaged is third worst.

Even Wilson, who had 1,103 yards receiving in his rookie season and 695 this year, has felt his game has been lacking.

He noted the two fumbles he coughed up in Week 9 against the Chargers and Week 11 against the Bills.

“I feel like I haven’t played the football I’ve wanted to play the last few weeks and when you would go and ask all the 11 other people that have been out there, the skill-position players, I feel like all of them will tell you the same exact thing,” Wilson said. “I’ve took a lot of pride in not turning the ball over my whole career and these last two fumbles … is inexcusable and something that I do lose sleep over for and the drops and how I’ve played.”

He added: “I still know I have a lot more to give.”

The Jets have lost a combined 17 games over Wilson’s first two seasons in the NFL, but prior to that, he had experienced just four losses during his three seasons at Ohio State.

Garrett Wilson catches a fourth-quarter touchdown pass during the Jets' loss to the Dolphins.
Garrett Wilson catches a fourth-quarter touchdown pass during the Jets’ loss to the Dolphins. Robert Sabo for NY Post

“I’m not naive to the fact that the Jets have had a rough go. I watched football growing up and I am aware I was brought in here to be an accessory to changing that,” Wilson said.

“I don’t know if I can be a savior and that’s just me being 100 percent honest, and I don’t even think that’s what anyone had in mind. I don’t think when you draft a receiver you look for them to be a savior, you look for them to be an accessory to what you’re building and hopefully a great one. And that’s what I’m in the chase of.”

While Wilson is trying to help the Jets turn things around and is frustrated by the team’s offensive struggles, he wasn’t ready to say he’s “fed up.”

“Someone can ask me, ‘Are you fed up?’ And I will tell them no. I’m not fed up. I gotta go figure out and do my part to go fix it.”