Celebrities

Mike Sorrentino says his wife, mom approved of him selling ‘emergency’ sex tape

Mike ‘The Situation’ Sorrentino claims he had once had a sex tape stashed away in case he ever needed to sell it for some extra money.

The “Jersey Shore” star got candid about the “insurance policy” he kept in his office during a conversation with Entertainment Tonight ahead of the release of his memoir “Reality Check: Making the Best of The Situation — How I Overcame Addiction, Loss, and Prison,” which hits shelves on Dec. 16.

“There was one. I think it’s been destroyed… the video wasn’t released [because] the offers weren’t good enough,” Sorrentino, 41, told the outlet Tuesday.

He added that he sought advice from his team about not releasing the tape unless it came with a hefty paycheck.

“They were a combo of revenue from the sales or streams. It wasn’t as big of an upfront payment as I wanted. It wasn’t ‘Jersey Shore’ money, so I wasn’t going to put myself out there like that,” he said.

Sorrentino, 41, will release his memoir on Dec. 16.
Sorrentino attends the launch of his signature couture pop at the Sugar Factory at the Paris Las Vegas on Oct. 15, 2011 in Las Vegas, Nevada. WireImage

Although Sorrentino never chose to release the tape, he felt the need to inform his mom and his now-wife, Lauren, of its existence.

“I was down on my luck, and I wanted to soften the fall, and there was that emergency sex tape. I had to tell my mother and Lauren, ‘I have to do this, it’s been here for years.’ And we went down that journey of selling it and we decided not to.”

The reality star is now a married father-of-two with one on the way. Ballast Books
The cast of “Jersey Shore” in 2009. Mtv/Kobal/Shutterstock

Earlier this year, Sorrentino admitted to partaking in a threesome with his co-star Vinny Guadagnino.

Sorrentino, who is now eight years sober, also revealed to ET that he spent at least $500,000 on cocaine and oxycodone.

Mike and Lauren are currently expecting their third child, a girl, together. They are already parents to their son Romeo, 2, and Mia, 10 months.