Jobs

I don’t like my boss – how do I get out of a long car ride with him?

My boss invited me to ride with him to a meeting which is about 2 hours away. The thought of having to make conversation seated next to my boss — who I don’t even like — for that long makes me nervous. Can I come up with some excuse why I can’t make it to the meeting? Or say that I’ve already made alternate travel plans?

How about telling your boss that you get carsick? This way the thought of traveling with you will make him queasy, too.
Much to unpack here for your trip. Clearly, your boss feels differently about you, because there’s no way that he would invite you to ride with him for 2 hours if he didn’t like you. So maybe this is a chance to get to know your boss better, and change your view.

I don’t think you should make up any excuse. Suck it up, keep a mint in your mouth and go with the flow. You might be surprised by your boss, and it could even lead to a better career path, too.

Israel national flag on top view work space of creative designer with laptop, computer keyboard, usb drive, graphic tablet, coffee cup, mouse on wooden table.
Unless your employer’s support for Israel is targeted against you specifically, you may not have a strong case for quitting. Getty Images/iStockphoto

My employer posted a note on our company website expressing support for Israel. I’m Palestinian, and although no one has treated me poorly, I am so offended I can’t work here anymore. I don’t feel protected or safe. Can I claim a hostile work environment, or quit and get unemployment?

Unless you are personally mistreated in some way, such as an adverse employment action against you, or your employer advances their messaging internally beyond the post on their website, I don’t think you have a strong case for claiming a hostile work environment.

Your discomfort in continuing to work for your employer is a different and personal matter that I think you should discuss with your employer. Perhaps something can be worked out where you feel better about what they stand for, or perhaps you can come to some mutual agreement about an exit.

Beyond that, this issue is far too complex and sensitive to handle appropriately in this space.

Gregory Giangrande has over 25 years of experience as a chief human resources executive. Hear Greg Wed. at 9:35 a.m. on iHeartRadio 710 WOR with Len Berman and Michael Riedel. Email: GoToGreg@NYPost.com. Follow: GoToGreg.com and on Twitter: @GregGiangrande