Golf

Jon Rahm abruptly pulls out of Tiger Woods’ new golf league

One of the top players in the world is bailing on Tiger Woods.

TGL — the technology-led arena golf league run by Woods and Rory McIlroy — announced Thursday that Jon Rahm was pulling out of the inaugural season after previously committing.

“Jon is one of the most talented players in the game and we will miss him during the inaugural TGL season. We understand that players have to balance a lot of different facets of their professional and personal lives and respect Jon’s choice and wish him well,” TGL said in a statement.

The league, which consists of six teams of four players each, is set to begin in January, with the first two events to be broadcast on ESPN.

The events will be shot Monday nights in Palm Beach, Fla., and Rahm lives in Phoenix.

However, the exact reason for the reigning Masters champ pulling out at this late juncture remains unclear.

A mockup of TGL events. TGL

Speculation that Rahm, who was one of the first players to commit to the league, was no longer involved started circulating Tuesday night when his page was scrubbed from TGL’s website.

“I am sad to confirm that I will not be participating in the first TGL season.” Rahm wrote on X. “While I still think it’s a great opportunity, right now it would require a level of commitment that I can’t offer. Best of luck to everyone involved and may the best team win!”

The league still boasts some of the top names in the sport with Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa and Xander Schauffele all committed to playing, along with Woods and McIlroy.

Jon Rahm throwing out the first pitch before Game 4 of the World Series. Getty Images

The league was first introduced in August 2022, not long after the first batch of top PGA Tour players bolted for LIV Golf.

Rahm’s sudden decision led some to wonder if it was a prelude to a bigger announcement.

However, the 28-year-old Spaniard has long been outspoken about his allegiance to the PGA Tour.

Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy announced the launch of TGL last year. USA TODAY Sports

“I laugh when people rumor me with LIV Golf,” Rahm said in August on a Spanish-language golf podcast.

“I’ve never liked the format (54 holes). And I always have a good time with Phil Mickelson and Sergio Garcia in the practice rounds of majors … Phil respects my decision, and I respect his [choice] … Mickelson has told me that I have no reason to go play for LIV, and he has told me that multiple times.”