NBA

James Harden goes off on 76ers for putting him ‘on a leash’: ‘I am a system’

James Harden didn’t feel free in Philadelphia.

When Harden forced himself from the 76ers to the Clippers, his public claims were that his relationship broke down with Sixers president Daryl Morey, whom he had previously had a great relationship with in Houston, but whom he called a “liar” when he wasn’t traded or given an extension this offseason.

But there were apparently basketball concerns as well.

At his introductory press conference after ultimately being traded to the Clippers, Harden was asked about some of his concerns in Brooklyn and Philadelphia.

With regard to the Nets, he spoke about the frustrations of trying to work through injuries, but with the Sixers, he had issues with the offensive system.

“Philly is just changing my role, knowing I could give more, knowing I could do more, but if you want to be honest, like being on a leash,” Harden said.

He said he knew what he had to do in handling the basketball and “facilitating” with Joel Embiid, but that “I never really had that opportunity.”

James Harden said that he felt like he was “on a leash” with the Sixers. Getty Images
James Harden responds to a reporter’s question as he is introduced as the newest member of the Los Angeles Clippers. AP

“I think all that plays into where I am today where whatever team-building the coaching staff needs me to do, I’ve been prepared and been in both situations, whether that’s me scoring 15-16 points or scoring 30,” Harden continued.

“As long as we win the game and everybody’s feeling confident and good about themselves, that’s all that really matters.”

Harden clarified that being on a leash didn’t mean “shooting the basketball every time — I meant that I think the game and I’m a creator on the court… [I need] somebody that trusts me, that believes in me, that understands me, that I’m not a system player. I am a system.”

James Harden arrives for a news conference as he is introduced as the newest member of the Los Angeles Clippers at the NBA basketball team’s training facility Thursday, Nov. 2, 2023. AP

Kevin O’Connor, who covers the NBA for the Ringer, mocked the idea that Harden was on a “leash.”

“James Harden ranked second in the NBA in time possessing the ball per game. Behind only Luka [Doncic] last season. I guess if you’re not first you’re last,” O’Connor posted on X.