NFL

What ‘upset’ Bills star Stefon Diggs about Josh Allen feud rumors

Stefon Diggs will sometimes “poke the bear.”

Take his April 1 tweet stating: “Comeeeeee anddddd rescue me….”

To the outside, the tweet could be taken as a sign of Diggs’ frustration with the Bills and quarterback Josh Allen.

The Bills’ 2022 season ended with him yelling at Allen on the sidelines in the fourth quarter of the disappointing Divisional Round home loss to the Bengals in January.

But Diggs said that tweet was just him having some fun while referencing a lyric from Drake’s “Search & Rescue” song.

“I’m like, damn, I thought we were all listening to Drake at one point. Sometimes I do poke the bear,” Diggs told teammate Von Miller on “The Voncast.

“Majority of the time it’s Twitter or Instagram, and I say, ‘Listen, it’s social media. Use it how you want, but we’re all grown-ass people.’ As an adult. I feel like I’m honest in whatever I say, but I feel like at one point some people dive too deep into things or take it however they want to take it.”

He added: “I’ll also say I’m not responsible for how people react to things, I’m not responsible for how somebody feels. I’m more so responsible in how I carry it, and I’m just happy to have my quarterback.”

Diggs, who intentionally or not has fueled the fire about the possibility of him wanting out of Buffalo, downplayed any perceived turmoil between him and his quarterback.

Stefon Diggs
Stefon Diggs corrals a touchdown against the Jets in Week 1. AP

The two started their fourth season together Monday and have enjoyed both personal and team success, with Diggs reaching three straight Pro Bowls in Buffalo.

However, the Bills have routinely fallen short in big situations and Diggs wears his heart on his sleeve.

He had issues with the Vikings, his previous team, before they traded him to Buffalo.

Miller asked the 29-year-old if there were any “misconceptions” about his relationship with Allen or if anything had happened in the offseason between the two.

“You go in after (a) 20-game season. You’re last image of me and Josh was after the fourth down. They say a picture is worth 1,000 words. So, you can garnish whatever you want from that image and create a narrative behind it and it will fit,” Diggs told Miller.

“In the offseason, there’s no football being played. It’s just a lot of commentary and he or she said. I feel the comment that upset me was that I wanted to leave. It was like, ‘I never said that.’ I never came out my mouth and never had a conversation with anybody saying that.”

Allen said in August that all is well between the two.

“Our communication’s an all-time high, just understanding some of our concepts better, making sure that we’re talking and have an open line of communication,” Allen said.

Stefon Diggs; Josh Allen
Stefon Diggs and Josh Allen during a preseason game. Getty Images

“The energy and juice that he’s had this training camp and as we’re going into the season is at an all-time high. I love playing with him, we’re going to continue to grow and get better and I think this is going to be our best year yet. I really believe that.”

Diggs and Allen will try to end the Bills’ streak of falling short this season but they already choked away a 10-point lead to the Jets on Monday night in the 22-16 overtime loss.

While Diggs produced a brilliant game, catching 10 balls for 102 passes and a touchdown, Allen deserved the most blame with his four-turnover game (three interceptions, one lost fumble).

To add insult to injury for Diggs, a team reporter ripped him on a hot mic for how he treats other people.

Diggs and the Bills aim to respond in Week 2 in their home opener against the Raiders.