Tennis

Coco Gauff claps back at her haters in US Open victory speech: ‘Burning so bright’

Coco Gauff won her first-ever Grand Slam on Saturday, and she made sure to call out those who had doubted her.

Gauff lost the first set against Aryna Sabalenka before taking the second and third sets to claim a 2-6, 6-3, 6-2 victory in the U.S. Open final.

After she shared some emotional moments with her parents and coaches in the stands, Gauff reflected on her win during his post-match interview.

The 19-year-old had been stunned after losing to unranked American Sofia Kenin in the first round at Wimbledon earlier in the summer, the first time she had ever been eliminated from a Grand Slam that early in her young professional career.

But following that disappointment, Gauff claimed titles at the Washington and Cincinnati Opens, WTA 500 and 1000 championships, respectively.

During her interview at center court at Arthur Ashe Stadium, she specifically called out those who doubted her despite the two recent wins this summer.

“Honestly, thank you to the people who didn’t believe in me,” Gauff said. “Like a month ago, I won a 500 title and people said I would stop at that. Two weeks ago, I won a 1000 title and people were saying that was the biggest I was going to get. So three weeks later, I’m here with this trophy right now. I tried my best to carry this with grace and I’ve been doing my best.

“So honestly, to those who thought [they] were putting water on my fire, you’re really adding gas to it. And now I’m really burning so bright right now.”

Gauff kisses the trophy as Aryna Sabalenka hangs her head down
Coco Gauff kisses the trophy as Aryna Sabalenka hangs her head down. Jason Szenes/NY Post
Coco Gauff poses with the championship trophy after defeating Aryna Sabalenka
Coco Gauff poses with the championship trophy after defeating Aryna Sabalenka. Larry Marano

Despite her message for those who didn’t have faith in her, Gauff did get plenty of support from the New York crowd and on social media from tennis greats — including six-time U.S. Open champion Serena Williams — and former President Barack Obama.

Now with a Grand Slam in tow, the sky does seem the limit for the young American star.