Larry Brooks

Larry Brooks

Tennis

Carlos Alcaraz continues to roll at US Open with third-round victory: ‘Great feeling’

When Carlos Alcaraz went to bed Friday night, Novak Djokovic had lost the first two sets of his third-round U.S. Open match against Laslo Djere and seemed, to many who were watching, to be in mortal danger. 

But that is not how Alcaraz, the defending champion, saw it. 

“I watched the first two sets and then I had to go to sleep, but, you know, when I go to bed, I was thinking Novak is going to come back, that’s for sure,” Alcaraz said.

”He shows once again that he’s one of the best in history. 

“[He is] 36 years old and doing the same things [as] when he was 20. It’s incredible. We have to give credit about that, and it’s something I admire.” 

The anticipated final showdown between Djokovic and Alcaraz, who have conducted a trilogy of memorable confrontations this summer in Paris, London and Cincinnati (How’s that for an itinerary?), remains on track following the Serb’s five-set victory, achieved in the wee hours, and the Spaniard’s triumph over Daniel Evans, 6-2, 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 in a wildly entertaining match that opened the festivities at Arthur Ashe Stadium on Saturday afternoon. 

There were a multitude of memorable rallies in which Evans’ bag of tricks nearly matched the first-seed’s kaleidoscope of circus shots.

Not only was the 33-year-old, 28th-ranked Brit able to get to a number of Alcaraz’s famous and inimitable drop shots, but also he was able to hit winners off of them. 

Carlos Alcaraz of Spain celebrates his win against Daniel Evans. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

The expressive Evans embraced his moment in the sun, playing to the crowd throughout, making facial gestures, falling to his knees, holding his hands to his head in stunned disbelief more than once, more than twice, more than thrice, after Alcaraz somehow managed to hit winners when it seemed impossible he could do so. 

There are, after all, some drop shots that have no answer. 

“It’s a great feeling. You know, when I hit the dropshots and the opponent couldn’t reach it, it’s a great feeling,” Alcaraz said. “I mean, I feel like I’m gonna do another one.” 

After Alcaraz saved a break point in the seventh game of the third set, Evans smashed his racket to the ground in shock and awe. (He broke Alcaraz for 4-3 on the next point.). 

Soon after, on a break point in the sixth game of the fourth set, after Alcaraz had capped a fantastic rally going the width of the court to hit an impossible running forehand down the line, Evans simply dropped his racket by the net while Alcaraz raised his fist in triumph when the shot was called in, confirming the break. 

And the crowd rose for yet another standing ovation. 

Carlos Alcaraz of Spain celebrates his win against Daniel Evans of Great Britain. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

“Obviously I want to win every match that I play, but at the same time, I want to have fun, try different things, make the people enjoy watching tennis and watching my matches,” Alcaraz said. “Sometimes I talk to myself about what is most important: If I win or doing great things. 

“Obviously [to] win the matches is always most important. But sometimes I talk about that.” 

Alcaraz is an electric performer.

So, on the women’s side, is 19-year-old Coco Gauff.

In addition to their talent, that is what makes them both must-see TV (if your cable operator is not in some sort of dispute, that is).

The 20-year-old’s array of shots seems limitless. 

“I always have that [variety],” Alcaraz said. “When I was young, playing under-12, under-14 tournaments, I [had a lot of] different things in my mind before hitting the shot. Probably the drop shot, big forehand, go to the net, you know, multiple things, you know, and sometimes it was tough to find the right one. 

“When I was younger, it was difficult sometimes. But right now I think most of the time I find the right one. Nut sometimes I struggle, you know, to hit good shots because of [having so many options].” 

Carlos Alcaraz of Spain returns a ball to Daniel Evans of Great Britain during their third-round US Open Tennis tournament match. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

Alcaraz, who hit 61 winners to Evans’ 28 in the match, which also featured 22 rallies of nine-plus shots, is aiming to become the first man to successfully defend his Open championship since Roger Federer’s run of five straight came to a close in 2008.

He will face Matteo Arnaldi, who took out No. 16 Cameron Norrie in a straight-set stunner, in the fourth round Monday. 

If chalk holds, Alcaraz would have a matchup against No. 6 Janik Sinner in the quarters and would face No. 3 Daniil Medvedev in the semifinals.

Then, of course, would come Djokovic, if the Serb can get through the half of the draw that features Americans Taylor Fritz, Frances Tiafoe and Tommy Paul

Carlos Alcaraz of Spain returns a ball to Daniel Evans of Great Britain during their third-round US Open Tennis tournament match. Corey Sipkin for the NY POST

“I think I’m playing a good level. I’m feeling really, really well on court, really comfortable,” Alcaraz said. “I always say that I can be better, but right now I’m really, really happy with the level that I’m playing.” 

The fun on court for Alcaraz extends to the post-match tradition in which the winner hits four autographed tennis balls into the stands. There is improvisation there, too. 

“Honestly, I was trying to find Spanish flags. You know, hit the ball to them, “he said. “I didn’t find too [many]. 

“Sometimes I find a lot.”