Weird But True

I’m a trans man who pees in the shower — here’s how my pal reacted when I did it at her house

She was pissed.

A 22-year-old man has taken to Reddit’s “Am I The A–hole” forum to share that he urinated in his female friend’s shower — and he has not heard from her since.

The poster explained that he was staying the night at his good friend Natalie’s house, where he peed while washing himself in the shower, a practice he says his whole family does. He also reported that he is trans.

“Now, as a guy without a penis I am unable to enjoy the wonders of pissing standing up most of the time,” the unidentified Redditor wrote. Stand-to-pee prosthetic devices “scare me and so I simply sit. However, when I shower I can pee however I’d like.”

He claimed that he was out with Natalie and a couple of their friends a few weeks after the golden shower at her home. Somehow, the topic of peeing in the shower came up, and he admitted that he does the act when rinsing off.

A man has taken to Reddit to figure out if it was appropriate to pee in his friend’s shower. Getty Images
“Now, as a guy without a penis I am unable to enjoy the wonders of pissing standing up most of the time,” the unidentified Redditor detailed.

The confession drew mixed reactions, with some pals agreeing “it’s so nice to be able to stand for once” and others finding it awkward — including Natalie.

“Natalie approached me later and nervously asked me if I had peed in her shower, and I said yes,” the poster further detailed. “She got really quiet and the whole thing got really awkward. She kinda shuffled away and we sort of avoided each other the rest of the evening.”

“Later, one of our mutual friends texted me to tell me Natalie was really uncomfortable to learn that I peed in her shower, and she was reconsidering whether she would ever let me stay with her again,” he continued. “I texted her about it directly and apologized, but she hasn’t replied yet.”

He claimed his female friend is no longer speaking to him. Getty Images/iStockphoto

His whizardry also divided Reddit.

“NTA,” one person declared him not the a–hole. “If you pooped in the shower and waffle stomped it down the drain, then you’d be the a**hole.”

Another user agreed, typing, “There are two types of people in the world: People that pee in the shower, and liars.”

Others argued that peeing in someone’s shower is so “disrespectful.”

“YTA,” one proclaimed. “What you do in your home is not what you necessarily do in another person’s home. This was disrespectful.”

“The issue isnt pissing in the shower,” a Redditor seconded, in part. “The issue is pissing in SOMEONE ELSES shower, when you have no idea if they’re ok with it. If you dont know if someone would be ok with it, then dont do it!”

“YTA,” someone else commented. “Your shower, do what you want. Someone else’s home, use the damn toilet. You would not be staying at my home again after I learned that.”

Users seemed to be quite divided over the debacle. Getty Images/iStockphoto

Urine trouble health-wise if you do choose to let it go in the shower.

In 2021, Dr. Alicia Jeffrey-Thomas warned in a viral TikTok against peeing in the shower, arguing you’re “creating an association in the brain between the sound of running water and having to pee.”

This could create “leak issues,” she contended, and could also have a negative effect on your pelvic floor.