Sex & Relationships

I’m a ‘giantess’ who finally found love — with someone 7 inches shorter

For most of her life, finding love felt like a tall order.

Lizzy Jade Groombridge, a 6-foot-3 woman who markets herself as a “giantess” on social media, always felt shortchanged in the game of love — that is, until she met her boyfriend, James Hitchens, who stands 5 feet 8. 

Now that her love life has reached new heights, the 29-year-old social media marketer, from Cornwall, England, and her 30-year-old electrician boyfriend are challenging outdated dating norms that suggest men should be taller than women. 

“James and I often get stares from other people in the street and many questions about our height difference,” Groombridge told Caters News.

And while Groombridge used to feel insecure about her height when she was growing up, posting videos online has given her newfound confidence. 

“It wasn’t until I built myself up on social media that I began to feel confident in myself, and I was positively noticed for my height,” she said. 

Groombridge, who goes by @Lizzylonglegslives on TikTok and @Lizzylonglegs27 on Instagram, has thousands of followers who worship her for her statuesque figure. 

“What a beauty Queen. Keep continuing to post pictures like this. Screw all the haters,” reads a comment on one of her Instagram photos. 

“Love your legs babe,” says another one of her drooling fans. 

Groombridge is an online fantasy for many, but her love life is much more down to Earth. 

Groombridge is 7 inches taller than her boyfriend. Caters News Agency
Groombridge and her partner’s height difference is sexualized online. Caters News Agency

“People have made the odd negative comment about my height making him look like he gets dominated, which has become a trend on social media apps for men to fantasize about and sexualize taller women,” she said of some of the attention she and her boyfriend get online. 

People make all sorts of assumptions about her dating life, but she isn’t letting them bring her down. 

“The positives of sharing our difference still outweigh the negatives,” she said. 

“I think it’s important to dissociate myself from this part of the online world and use my platform to inspire and educate people on loving themselves and being content with who they are,” she added. 

Groombridge is worshipped online but feared she might never find love due to her height. Caters News Agency

She wasn’t always immune to haters, however. 

“I was always the tallest person in my school years, including all the boys in my classes,” she said of her awkward teen years. 

“At around 15, I had already hit 6 feet tall, which always made me feel different and not as feminine as the other girls,” she continued. 

And she never could have imagined herself dating a shorter man — nor did she think one could handle dating her.

Groombridge said he boyfriend is “masculine” and isn’t intimidated by her height. Caters News Agency

“Society assumes men should always be bigger than their female partners, which impacted my love life for a while, as I would feel embarrassed by my height,” she said.

“Men would react by feeling quite emasculated and insecure at times. They even made me feel like I shouldn’t wear heels,” she added. 

Hitchens loves his girlfriend’s height and doesn’t let the mean comments get him down. 

Growing up, Groombridge felt she would have to date someone taller to feel accepted. Caters News Agency

“James sees past the height difference. He’s quite a masculine guy who is happy to make videos with me in a light-hearted way,” said Groombridge. 

Groombridge found true love with Hitchens — and with herself. 

“I like to be authentically myself and encourage women to wear heels and own themselves,” she said. 

“I don’t try to build up a fake image as my entire personality online.”

Groombridge and Hitchens aren’t the only couples with a height difference shattering societal expectations for men and women.

Just last year, a wife who is 6 inches taller than her husband said she is having the “best sex ever.”