Soccer

USWNT’s Mallory Swanson still coming to terms with missing 2023 World Cup

Mallory Swanson is still having trouble processing a freak injury.

After she tore the patellar tendon in her left knee during a friendly match against Ireland in April, Swanson has been forced to forgo playing for the United States Women’s National Team in the Women’s World Cup — and months later she still hasn’t fully come to terms with it.

“I’ve always said that it’s something I have to be processing as it’s happening, because it is so devastating. Sometimes I still can’t believe it,” Swanson said during an interview at the opening day for the Frito-Lay “Gallery of Greats” exhibit in Manhattan, a memorabilia experience dedicated to the past, present, and future of women’s sports.

Despite initially trying to get through a yearlong rehab process in under four months, Swanson is now taking her road to recovery day by day.

“It’s coming along, but it’s a slow process,” the forward said. “I’m an impatient person when it comes to that stuff. Right now, my main focus is my knee. I wake up, and it’s all about my knee. I go to physical therapy four times a week, so that takes up most of my time, and then after PT it’s all about recovery. Sauna, hyperbaric chamber, all the things.”

Mallory Swanson is working her way back from injury while watching her USWNT teammates go for a third straight World Cup title. AP

Swanson also said she has been able to do some juggling with a soccer ball, but has yet to progress to any jogging-type movements, let alone running.

When healthy, Swanson not only was arguably one of the top players on the U.S women’s team, but also one of the best in the world.

In her last 21 matches with the U.S. team, she had 14 goals and seven assists, which included four goals in the 2023 SheBelieves Cup.

Although she has been away from the team, the 25-year-old has enjoyed watching the games from afar without the added pressure of being a player for once.

“[I felt like] more of the fan,” Swanson said. “Which has kind of been nice because anytime you’re watching [as a player], you’re watching film, where this person should be, positioning, tactics, all that kind of stuff. So honestly it’s been nice to block that all out.”

During the USWNT’s 3-0 victory in the opening match against Vietnam last Friday in Auckland, New Zealand, Swanson saw a lot of positives to take away from the game — particularly on the offensive end.

“Continuing from when I was there, attacking in transition. Especially with the forwards and the profile that [we] have, that’s what they do and I firmly believe that they are the best in the world with that.”

The one player who made a splash in the opening match was USWNT forward Sophia Smith, who scored two goals in the victory.

Mallory Swanson went down with an injury during the first half of an international friendly soccer match against Ireland. AP

Ask Swanson whether she saw a performance like this coming, and she would say yes.

“I mean, are we shocked? I told Dansby [Swanson’s husband and shortstop for the Cubs], he was like, ‘Who do you think is going to have a good tournament?’ I said, ‘Obviously I think Soph,’ ” Swanson said. “That’s just her, she gets this mindset going like no one is stopping her. Of course she was going to rise to the occasion and get the job done. I’ve known Soph forever. Just seeing her game evolve has been so cool for me. I’m just excited to see not only what she does in this World Cup but what she’s gonna do for the rest of her career too, because I think it’s going to be super special.”

Mallory Swanson gestured toward fans while being carted off the pitch. Getty Images

The USWNT is in good hands with players such as Smith on the roster.

Even if they have enough talent on the field to make up for Swanson’s absence, however, they do miss her off of it.

“They text me that they miss me,” Swanson said. “Maybe [they miss] my off-the-field goofiness. I bring the good energy by being myself and I bring competitiveness to the trainings, but also the good times. You’re there to win the World Cup, but also to enjoy the journey.”