Sports

Gabby Douglas joins Simone Biles as latest to announce gymnastics comeback: ‘Let’s do this’

Gabby Douglas is back. 

The star gymnast announced her return to the sport in an Instagram post on Thursday, featuring a photo of Douglas leaping across the beam. 

“I know I have a huge task ahead of me and I am beyond grateful and excited to get back out on the floor,” Douglas wrote in the caption. “There’s so much to be said but for now … let’s do this.”

Douglas, 27, has won three Olympic gold medals and became the first Black woman to win the individual all-around in the 2012 London Games.

Douglas competed with USA gymnastics in both London and Rio de Janeiro in 2016, but sat out of the 2021 games in Tokyo before taking a hiatus from social media and the spotlight last August. 

Gabby Douglas displays her gold medal.
Gabby Douglas displays her gold medal. AP

“I just wanted to let you guys know that I will be taking a step back from the socials to work on myself and focus on my mental health,” Douglas wrote in an Instagram post at the time

“I want to be the best representation for all of you and be the best version of myself.” 

During her time away, Douglas said she did a lot of “journaling, reflecting, soul searching” and ultimately found herself “back where it all began.” 

When the Larry Nassar sexual assault scandal first broke in 2016, Douglas was one of the most prominent members of USA Gymnastics to come forward with allegations against the longtime team doctor.

Nassar faced accusations from more than 160 women and was sentenced to up to 175 years in prison after pleading guilty to federal charges in 2017. 

“It’s so easy to suppress and run away from facing darkness and fears,” Douglas said in her return post. “I wanted to find the joy again for the sport that I absolutely love doing.”

U.S. gymnasts and gold medallists, Simone Biles, left and Gabby Douglas celebrate. AP

While Douglas didn’t officially confirm that she’s going to try to qualify for the 2024 Paris Games, she ended her note with the hashtag “#2024.” 

If Douglas’ eyes are set on the Olympic stage, she’ll be in competition with Simone Biles –– who also announced her return to elite competition and will compete in August’s U.S. Classic –– for a spot on the team. 

Sunisa Lee, the 2021 all-around Olympic champion, is also expected to make a run at the 2024 Paris squad.