Soccer

Christian Pulisic: Wish I’d have gotten more of an opportunity at Chelsea

American soccer star Christian Pulisic is looking toward his future with AC Milan optimistically, but couldn’t help but reflect on his four seasons with Chelsea and wish there had been more opportunities there. 

AC Milan completed the signing of Pulisic on Thursday, officially ending his time in the Premier League, which never went quite as planned.

With injuries and frequent turnover at the managerial position, Pulisic found his role declining. 

“Of course. I’d like to think so,” Pulisic told ESPN when asked if he wished he was given more opportunities. “Of course there are definitely times where I wish I could’ve gotten more of an opportunity and been that guy, but yeah, for whatever reason, that’s not the case, and like I said, I’m just so excited for this new challenge and I’m definitely ready and up for it.”

Pulisic appeared in 145 games over the four seasons he spent at Stamford Bridge and scored 26 goals, while adding 21 assists.

But he struggled last season scoring just one goal in 30 games across all competitions, both of which were career lows for his time with Chelsea. 

Chelsea's Christian Pulisic reacts
Christian Pulisic’s time with Chelsea left him wanting. REUTERS

One of his best moments with the Premier League side that he had came during the 2020-21 season when he scored against Real Madrid in the Champions League semifinals. 

Chelsea went on take the Champions League title that season. 

The Hershey, Penn. native will now try to help his new club and has had positive conversations with his new manager, Stefano Pioli.

“I think he made me feel like he wanted me here, he wanted me to be a part of this team and he saw me fitting into this team, and that’s what I wanted to hear,” he said. “Obviously I want a fair opportunity like everyone else to have the chance to come here. I still need to earn my place, of course, but it felt like I was wanted here and I have a great opportunity, if I show good effort, good attitude every day and train well, that I’m going to get the opportunity to go out and perform.”

Pulisic has been one of American soccer’s young stars since he became a regular fixture for the US Men’s National Team in 2016. 

Christian Pulisic of the United States attempts to drive by Richmond Laryea, of Canada
Pulisic is one of the young stars for the USMNT. AP

He has 25 goals in 60 games for the United States and he hopes that his time in Serie A will only make him that much better on the international stage. 

“I think it’s just another massive opportunity and experience for me to learn and grow as a player,” he told the outlet. “Playing in a new league, a new challenge for me, it’s just going to test me that much more, and when those big moments like Copa America and stuff come around, I’m just going to be that much more battle-tested, and that’s how I feel with coming to a new club, getting to play in all different types of new games and playing new teams.

“Massive opportunity for me to really step up and go to another level as a player. And when those things come around with the national team, I know I’ll be in top form and be ready.”