NFL

Why Tom Brady is maintaining his wild diet even in retirement

Tom Brady’s legendary discipline is not bound to whether he happens to be an active football player.

Later in his NFL career, Brady notoriously avoided food groups such as dairy, sugar, white flour and caffeine, once noting that his treat of choice was avocado ice cream.

In a recent interview with People, the seven-time Super Bowl champion revealed that he is keeping up with his diet, but doesn’t necessarily see it as an immense challenge.

“I don’t think it’s a strict regimen,” Brady, 45, told the outlet. “I think it’s just trying to make healthy choices that allow me to live the life I want to live.”

He added the reason for keeping this control is that he wants to stay “very active.”

“I think what I put in my body is very important,” Brady said.

Brady’s diet has been a story since his battle with time came to the forefront.

Tom Brady revealed that he is maintaining his strict diet regimen -- even in retirement.
Tom Brady revealed that he is maintaining his strict diet regimen — even in retirement. Instagram / Tom Brady

“Do you need to eat a cheeseburger every day to realize that you love a cheeseburger?” Brady asked New York Magazine in 2016.

“Or could you eat it once a week … or once every two weeks … or once a month … or once every two months?

“I’ve never eaten a strawberry in my life. I don’t believe you could be a 39-year-old quarterback in the NFL and eat cheeseburgers every day. I want to be able to do what I love to do for a long time.”

Tom Brady retired in February after 23 NFL seasons.
Tom Brady retired in February after 23 NFL seasons. Getty Images

Regarding the strawberries, he told People something a little bit different.

“I just didn’t like the taste,” Brady revealed.

Brady retired in early February after 23 NFL seasons, and although he already did that a year ago before announcing a comeback, he has thus far maintained publicly that he is definitely staying away from returning to football this time.