Tennis

Daniil Medvedev stunned at French Open by Thiago Seyboth Wild

No. 172 takes out No. 2.

Thiago Seyboth Wild stunned Daniil Medvedev 7-6 (7-5), 6-7 (8-6), 2-6, 6-3, 6-4 in the first round of the 2023 French Open, the Brazilian rallying to win the final two sets in front of a raucous crowd at Roland Garros.

Medvedev, who is not a fan of playing on clay courts, was at odds with the fans on Phillippe-Chatrier court, shushing them at times, as they cheered on the qualifier.

Thiago Seyboth Wild celebrates after upsetting Russia’s Daniil Medvedev at the French Open on May 30, 2023. AFP via Getty Images

“I had a mouthful of clay since probably the third game of the match, and I don’t like it. I don’t know if people like to eat clay, to have clay in their bags, in their shoes, the socks — white socks, you can throw them [into the] garbage after clay season,” said Medvedev, who won the 2021 U.S. Open and reached three other major finals on hard courts. “Maybe some people like it. I don’t.”

Seyboth Wild, who had yet to win a tour-level match this season, took the first set in a tiebreaker and had chances to take the second in a tiebreaker as well before a flurry of errors allowed Medvedev to even the match.

Medvedev, who was coming off a title at the Italian Open, took the third set 6-2 and appeared to have control of the match.

Daniil Medvedev shakes hands with Thiago Seyboth Wild. Getty Images

But Seyboth Wild, 25, retook momentum thanks to a booming forehand that led to 69 winners, compared to Medvedev’s 45.

“It definitely was the happiest day of my life,” said Wild, a 23-year-old from Brazil. “I knew it was going to be a tough match, but I knew how to play. I have watched him play 1,000 times already. I just had to believe in myself.

“Walking on the court, I really just wanted to get the angles, try to get to the net as much as possible, try to use my forehand against his. It worked pretty well.”

Thiago Seyboth Wild is ranked No. 172 in the world. AP

Medvedev was also undone by 15 double faults and was broken seven times by Wild, who took the final two sets, 6-3 and 6-4.

Medvedev, who was treated by a trainer for a nosebleed in the third set, didn’t help himself by double-faulting a career-high 15 times, something he blamed in part on the wind that topped 15 mph (24 kph).

By turns, Medvedev credited Seybolt Wild for playing well, saying the guy could end up ranked in the top 30 by year’s end, but also seemed a bit miffed.

“I honestly hope he’s going to play like this later on,” Medvedev said, “because if not, I’m going to be disappointed. I’m going to be like, ‘Why today? Why not in two days?’ ”

Medvedev was asked how he would characterize his relationship with clay, now that this portion of the tour calendar is done.

“Every time it finishes, I’m happy,” Medvedev replied. “So I’m happy. I’m happy again.”

Wild will face Guido Pella, who beat Quentin Halys in five sets, in the second round after blowing up the bottom half of the draw with the biggest win of his career.

— with AP