TV

Roseanne Barr slams former co-star Sara Gilbert: ‘Stabbed me in the back’

Roseanne Barr said that her TV daughter “stabbed me in the back.” 

Barr, 70, was fired in 2018 from the reboot of her iconic ABC show, “Roseanne,” after she went on a bizarre Twitter rant falsely claiming Chelsea ​Clinton ​is married to George Soros’ nephew​, repeated a false rumor that the billionaire is a Nazi sympathizer​ and made a racist comment about President Obama adviser Valerie Jarrett.

In a recent interview on SiriusXM’s “The Megyn Kelly Show,” Barr blamed her former co-star Sara Gilbert, 48, for the backlash against her. 

In the aftermath of Barr’s Twitter meltdown, Gilbert tweeted, “Roseanne’s recent comments about Valerie Jarrett, and so much more, are abhorrent and do not reflect the beliefs of our cast and crew or anyone associated with our show. I am disappointed in her actions to say the least.” 

Gilbert went on to star on “The Conners,” the spinoff of “Roseanne” that was created after Barr’s firing. Co-starring John Goodman, ABC just renewed the sit-com for Season 6. The show also killed off Roseanne.

Roseanne Barr blamed Sara Gilbert for the backlash to her Twitter comments. Getty Images
Barr (right) recently went on Megyn Kelly’s show. Megyn Kelly/YouTube

Gilbert was also the co-host of “The Talk,” and Barr alleged that she used that platform to continue slamming Barr. 

“It wasn’t enough that she stabbed me in the back and did what she did to me there,” Barr said to Kelly. 

“But then she would go on her talk show every day and talk about how shocked she was at my racism on top of it.” 

Barr said that this prompted her to call Gilbert. 

“I said … ’You better shut your blankin’ mouth about me. I’m telling you, you better shut your effing mouth.’ And she did,” Barr claimed.

Sara Gilbert (right) played Rosanne’s daughter on “Roseanne.” Paramount Television / ABC
The original “Roseanne” ran from 1988 to 1997. ABC
The show starred Alicia Goranson (clockwise from upper left), Barr, Gilbert, John Goodman and Michael Fishman as the Conners. ABC

The “Roseanne” revival did gangbusters in the ratings when it premiered, drawing nearly 18 million viewers. 

But that didn’t stop ABC from pulling the plug on the entire show after Barr’s Twitter rant. 

“Roseanne’s Twitter statement is abhorrent, repugnant and inconsistent with our values and we have decided to cancel her show,” ​ABC Entertainment president Channing Dungey said in a statement at the time. 

Barr made some outrageous claims in her interview with Kelly. Getty Images
Gilbert with Barr on “Roseanne” Viacom

Barr also claimed that she believes ABC was trying to goad her into suicide. 

“[ABC] knew I had mental health issues. I thought they wanted me to kill myself and all my friends did too,” she said. 

Norm MacDonald, who was a good friend … he said, ‘I think they’re trying to push you to suicide.’ And Bob Einstein, he also died during that time, he was a very good friend, he called me and said, ‘This is just unprecedented. It’s evil what they’re doing to you.’ It really was.”