Home

My neighbor posted flyers declaring me a package-stealing ‘porch pirate’

A Louisiana State University student accused of stealing packages by her neighbor has hit back, making her own posters defending herself from the “porch pirate” claims.

A TikToker who goes by Amy Lynn chalks the allegations up to a misunderstanding.

She claims she picked up a package addressed to her that was delivered to the wrong home, prompting the neighbor to falsely accuse her of stealing the package and plaster their condo complex with posters spreading the rumor.

“I probably walked past these posters a few times and didn’t even notice,” she admitted in a TikTok posted Tuesday, saying her boyfriend pointed out the flyers to her.

She said she immediately started ripping them down — while wearing pajamas.

“There were like 10-15 of these posters,” she continued in disbelief in the clip, which has delivered 448,000 views. “There were four posted on my boyfriend’s car.”

The TikToker said she had been on the lookout for a package sent by her mom on May 12.

“So the day goes on, I forget about it,” she recalled. “I go outside to walk my dog, and I noticed that our next-door neighbor has a package on their porch.”

She said she quickly walked up to the porch and discovered the parcel had her name and address on it.

“So I pick it up and continue my walk with my dog,” she explained. “Didn’t think anything of it.”

She doesn’t know how the neighbor got the photos of her, as she doesn’t think there is a doorbell camera on that particular porch.

“So what I’m thinking is someone must have saw me take the package, told them,” she theorized, adding she is “easy to spot” because she’s one of the few black people living in the complex.

“As far as my thoughts about the situation. I do feel as though race played a factor in the entire mix up,” Lynn told The Post in an email. “I am one of the few African Americans that live in the complex and instead of talking to me my neighbor puts flyers and post on social accusing me of stealing.”

Lynn said she hasn’t heard from her neighbor directly, but she has talked to her boyfriend.

“He was nice and was just trying to understand the situation,” she said. “I expressed to the boyfriend that the package was mine and that I didn’t not like the language used on the flyer.”

TikTok users encouraged her to talk with police or file a lawsuit for defamation.

But she decided against doing so after consulting friends pursuing legal careers.

“There is a very strong possibility that the police won’t do anything because it’s just an Amazon package,” she reasoned. “I could file a civil suit, but I’m a college student and don’t have money for an attorney.”

In a follow-up video, the woman creates her own poster that reads, “NOT A PORCH PIRATE,” with a photo of the original poster on it.

“Can’t believe it’s come to this,” she wrote in the caption.