NBA

LeBron James calls son Bronny James’ USC choice ‘one of the best days of my life’

LeBron James and the Lakers crushed the Warriors on Saturday night, but that’s not why James was beaming after the game.

Earlier in the day, James’ oldest son, Bronny, finally made his college choice, announcing his commitment to USC.

“One of the best days of my life,” James told Spectrum SportsNet on Saturday after the Lakers’ 127-97 Game 3 win over the Warriors in the second round of the NBA playoffs.

“Congratulations to Bronny on the decision he made. I’m super proud of him. Our family is proud of him. For me personally, it’s even more special to me because it’s the first time someone out of my family is going to college. Obviously, I didn’t go to college either. So it’s just a proud moment to see my son going to college. He’s the first one going to college in my family. Super duper proud, super emotional, super duper excited and happy for his journey, and today was a proud day.

“I couldn’t lose today. No matter the outcome of this game, I couldn’t lose today personally. But I’ll take this cherry on top with this dub, though.”

Bronny James, after committing to USC, attends Lakers-Warriors Game 3 on May 6, 2023. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con
Bronny James talks to Warriors star Steph Curry on May 6, 2023. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

Bronny James, 18, was a McDonald’s All-American this year after playing his senior year at Sierra Canyon.

The 6-foot-3 guard reportedly considered Ohio State and Oregon before deciding on USC.

LeBron has stated multiple times his desire to play in the NBA with Bronny.

“I was serious, and I’m still serious about it,” LeBron, 38, told reporters after Saturday’s game. “Just because it’s my aspiration, it doesn’t mean it’s his. It’s not what you want. It’s about listening to your kids and what they want.”

LeBron James and the Lakers react during a win over the Warriors on May 6, 2023. NBAE via Getty Images
LeBron James drives to the basket during the Lakers’ win over the Warriors on May 6, 2023. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con
LeBron James with his son Bronny James at the McDonald’s All-American game on March 28, 2023. Getty Images

LeBron had 21 points, eight rebounds and eight assists in Saturday’s Lakers win, which put them up 2-1 in the series.

Los Angeles will host Game 4 on Monday.