Greg Giangrande

Greg Giangrande

Jobs

I’m a cashier – can my boss make me act as a security guard?

I work in a small retail store as a cashier. Because of increased crime and shoplifting in the area, the owner has put electronic locks on the door. He expects us to buzz people in, but only if they “look safe.” He also expects us to lock in any shoplifters and call the cops. I’m not a security officer, and I don’t want to do that. Can he require me to it? I didn’t sign up for it.

Unfortunately, you can’t buy half the stock in CVS now without having to ask someone to unlock it.

Many small retail business owners in NYC are trying to deal with growing crime and theft.

Trained security guards stand watch at many luxury retailers, but few retailers can afford that.

As much as I feel for store owners who are just trying to protect their business, they need to protect their employees first.

Asking a cashier to judge who should be allowed entry and to prevent the exit of anyone who shoplifts is putting you in danger, and is wrong. I wouldn’t comply.

There are many retailers out there that need help who won’t ask you to play security guard.

My boss wants me to return to the office but honestly, I can’t afford to. The current cost of commuting and paying for childcare would make it impossible for me to make ends meet. Are those legitimate reasons to say that I can’t come back in, at least not without a raise?

Well, they are legitimate costs for sure, but a legitimate question is: Did you work in the office previously, and at your current compensation?

Because if you did, and your home circumstances haven’t changed, then you saved a lot of money when you switched to remote work.

So, going back to the office is just returning to the same financial circumstances that you had previously.

However, if things have changed or you started out in the job working remotely, then raising the cost of coming into the office is a legitimate conversation to have.

Gregory Giangrande has over 25 years of experience as a chief human resources executive. Hear Greg Weds. at 9:35 a.m. on iHeartRadio 710 WOR with Len Berman and Michael Riedel. Email: GoToGreg@NYPost.com. Follow: GoToGreg.com and on Twitter: @GregGiangrande