NFL

Jets pick two local-area stars and Pittsburgh teammates on Day 3 of NFL draft

Day 3 of the Jets’ 2023 draft had a local flavor to it.

The Jets used their first two picks on players from this area, who also both happened to play at Pittsburgh.

First, the Jets grabbed offensive tackle Carter Warren, who grew up in Paterson, N.J., in the fourth round.

They followed that up by taking running back Israel Abanikanda, a Brooklyn native, in the fifth round.

The two were Pitt teammates and now will get to play for their local team.

“It’s actually a dream come true,” Abanikanda said. “I always wanted to stay home, to stay close to family and just for that happening, it’s an unreal experience.”

Warren said he realized he was getting to play 20 minutes from home when he saw a New Jersey area code come up on his phone.

“It was crazy,” Warren said. “A New Jersey number came and called. I saw the Jets were up next. I was crying. My family was so happy. They didn’t know what was going on. I was ecstatic.”

The Jets moved back in the fourth round to take Warren, going from No. 112 to 120 in a trade with the Patriots.

Panthers offensive lineman Carter Warren blocks against the Tennessee Volunteers.
Panthers offensive lineman Carter Warren blocks against the Tennessee Volunteers. Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Warren was a four-year starter for the Panthers, but missed all but four games last season after he tore the meniscus in his left knee.


Catch up with the entire list of Jets picks from the 2023 NFL Draft, including round-by-round analysis.


Warren, a Panthers team captain, played high school football at Passaic Tech.

The 6-foot-5, 311-pounder can be a developmental player for the Jets who could become a starter in a year or two.

“They’re getting a physical, dominant player, who is great with his hands, is smart, a great football IQ,” Warren said. “He’s ready to work. He’s a hard worker, the hardest worker in the room. He’s ready to go to work.”

Abanikanda, a 5-foot-10, 216-pound back, put up big numbers for the Panthers last season, rushing for 1,431 yards and 20 touchdowns.

He ran for 320 yards and six touchdowns in a game against Virginia Tech, breaking Pittsburgh records, one of which was held by Tony Dorsett.

The Jets currently have Breece Hall, who is recovering from ACL surgery as their top back.

They also have Michael Carter and Zonovan Knight in their running backs room.

“They’re getting a running back that can break tackles,” Abanikanda said. “I can run in any type of scheme, outside zone, inside zone, under the center. I can also line up at slot, catch the ball and break away. I’m a home run runner with great ball security, as well.”

Abanikanda said he is motivated by doubters.

“I feel like I always play with a chip on my shoulder because since I was young I’ve always been underrated,” he said. “Being underrated is not new to me. I just feel like that just motivates me and pushes me to the next level of my game.”

Panthers running back Israel Abanikanda advances the ball against the  Louisville Cardinals.
Panthers running back Israel Abanikanda advances the ball against the Louisville Cardinals. Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Jets also drafted Western Michigan linebacker Zaire Barnes and LSU cornerback Jarrick Bernard-Converse in the sixth round. In the seventh round, they took Old Dominion tight end Zack Kuntz.

Jets general manager entered the day with just three picks, but made two trades to acquire more.

Besides the trade in the fourth round, the Jets also sent the 170th pick (fifth round) to the Raiders in exchange for the 204th (sixth round) and 220th (seventh round) picks.

Abanikanda was excited about going to the NFL with Warren.

“It feels amazing,” he said. “We were just roommates for the combine just talking about, ‘I wonder which team we’re going to go to?’ Playing on the same team as my O line, that’s amazing. That’s an unreal experience, as well. That’s something you just wish for.”

Warren, who said he is 100 percent after his knee injury last year, said he is looking forward to blocking for new Jets quarterback Aaron Rodgers.

“It’s going to be a cool experience,” Warren said. “I know he’s all about ball and business. I’m the same. I’m ready to go to work. Whatever he needs from us, whether that be extra film work, on the field, off the field, I’m here to do it. I’m ready to get going.”