Weird But True

I’m the world’s strongest grandpa — I broke weightlifting record at 86

Forget canes – this grandpa uses dumbbells.

A grandpa from England set a new world weightlifting record at 86.

Brian Winslow, now known as Britain’s “strongest grandpa,” claimed the record after lifting 165 pounds on his first lift at the British Drug-Free Powerlifting Association (BDFPA) championships in Horncastle, Lincolnshire, last Saturday.

The senior citizen made three attempts to break the record, first successfully lifting 165 pounds, then conquering 171 pounds and finally attempting 172 pounds, but the last lift didn’t work out in his favor. The grandpa says he weighs around 137 pounds.

“I’m only disappointed I couldn’t get the third lift,” he told Mirror UK.

“It wasn’t too heavy for me, I just got the technique wrong because I was thinking too much about what I was doing. I’ve lifted 176 pounds before at home and nine years ago I lifted 330 pounds in the gym.”

Brian Winslow is Britain’s “strongest grandpa” after setting a world record. Joseph Walshe SWNS
Winslow has been lifting weights for nearly 60 years. Joseph Walshe SWNS
“I’ve lifted 176 pounds before at home and nine years ago I lifted 330 pounds in the gym,” shared the 86-year-old. Joseph Walshe SWNS

Winslow is an experienced bodybuilder who has lifted weights for nearly 60 years and maintains his physique by lifting weights six days a week in his home gym.

The senior citizen says he is “absolutely delighted” to break the world record.

“It’s always great to get a record or two. I was exhausted straight afterward, but was fine after a cup of tea and a good meal,” he told the Mirror.

He became obsessed with the sport after divorcing his wife. Brian Winslow SWNS
The grandfather of nine trains six times a week in his home gym. Brian Winslow SWNS

The BDFPA confirmed that Winslow holds the British and world record in the 60kg (132 pounds) category for male competitors aged 85 to 89.

Winslow, who is divorced, developed his love for weightlifting while working as a beach tenant in the 1950s.

“I also wanted to look good for the ladies on the beach so I’d try and get my arms as big as possible. I had a few memorable summers,” he said.

His hobby soon became “a huge part of my life,” referring to it as “a compulsion to do weights. It’s become an obsession.”

Winslow’s “obsession” with the sport caused him to have acute nosebleeds and even led to him having a knee replacement.

“After each competition, I’m pretty drained so I have a few days off from training but I can’t bear to be away from the weights for that long,” he shared with Mirror UK.
“I think it’s the best event but it is the most taxing.”

Winslow has no plans to stop participating in the sport. David Reid-Lang / SWNS
The elder considers weightlifting an important part of his life. David Reid-Lang / SWNS

Winslow says he plans to keep weightlifting well into his 90s.

“I eat the right things like pasta and fresh fruit and vegetables and drink plenty of water,” he said.

He says weightlifting is vital to his life.

“I know I’m not the normal type of granddad but I love to challenge and push myself and at the end of the day I’m competing for me and no one else,” he shared with the Mirror.

“I’ll keep carrying on for as long as the body allows but at the moment I feel fighting fit.”