College Basketball

San Diego State star with Willis Reed ties relishing shot to play in Final Four

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — The possibility has been on Jaedon LeDee’s mind all year, though he tried to push it to the back of his mind.

Now it’s tantalizingly close to reality as LeDee and his San Diego State team are in the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight and one win away from playing in the Final Four in his hometown of Houston.

Creighton, which the Aztecs will play in the South Region final on Sunday at the KFC Yum! Center, is all that stands in his way.

“I’ve thought about it a little bit for sure,’’ LeDee told The Post. “It was on my goals at the start of the year to go back home for the Final Four. If we win tomorrow, we’re going to have a crawfish boil at my house for the team.

“In the thick of the season I was just worried about the Mountain West [Conference] and the teams in front of us, but in the back of my mind I was always thinking, ‘I’m doing this for later.’

Jaedon LeDee slams home a dunk during San Diego State's win over Alabama in the Sweet 16.
Jaedon LeDee slams home a dunk during San Diego State’s win over Alabama in the Sweet 16. USA TODAY Sports

“Now that we’re here, one win away, it’s right there.’’

LeDee is a 6-foot-9, 240-pound physical freak who transferred to SDSU from TCU after he had transferred to TCU from Ohio State.

He averages 7.8 points and 5.2 rebounds per game and is one of the Aztecs’ key contributors off the bench.

He scored 12 points on 5-for-9 shooting and had six rebounds in 17 minutes in a win over Alabama in the Sweet 16 on Friday night.

LeDee comes from some elite genes. Willis Reed, who died last week, was his mother’s great uncle and was close to the family.

“I’ve seen some tape of him play and I met him a couple times,’’ LeDee said. “We were relatively close as a family. It was sad definitely, but he had a very blessed life. He was a great guy. He’s looking from above us right now.

“I got some of the good genes. It was a different game back when he played. My dad kind of modeled my game a little differently. But I’m glad I got some of those genes.’’

Now he has a chance to take his talents home.

“I definitely can appreciate it, because a lot of my friends back home have let me know about it, telling me to ‘Get this one tomorrow,’ ’’ LeDee said. “It would be really fun. I’ve got family and friends from all around Houston and they want to come out and support.”