College Basketball

Rick Pitino wants to keep coaching for another 12 years

ALBANY — Age really is only a number to Rick Pitino.

The 70-year-old Hall of Famer believes he can coach for several more years.

Steve Masiello, the former Manhattan College coach who has known Pitino since 1989 and joined him at Iona University this year, told The Post his boss will be at it for another decade. Pitino didn’t shoot that idea down.

“Now, my desire would be to coach that long because … the two years I was out of coaching were the most miserable two years of my life because I missed it so much,” Pitino said on the eve of No. 13 Iona’s West Region opening-round game against fourth-seeded Connecticut at MVP Arena.

“I love teaching. I love coaching. I love motivating. Everything about it, and I missed it terribly.

“That’s why I went to Greece. That was a big thing for me. So I hope I can coach for another 12 years, but I’ll take six or seven.”

Iona Gaels head coach Rick Pitino on the sidelines during the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic game against the Seattle Redhawks at SimpliFi Arena on December 23, 2022 in Honolulu, Hawaii.
Iona Gaels head coach Rick Pitino on the sidelines during the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic at SimpliFi Arena on December 23, 2022, in Honolulu, Hawaii. Getty Images

Pitino has been the subject of coaching rumors over the last week. St. John’s and Texas Tech are both interested in hiring him, according to sources. Whether he stays at Iona or goes somewhere else, he certainly doesn’t seem ready to retire anytime soon.

“He’s not 70 years old. He’s not. The guy’s not human,” Masiello said. “He just goes. He’s unbelievable. He works out, he’s up early, we work our tails off, we go out for dinner. He’s not 70. It’s like he’s in his 40s.