NBA

Josh Hart wants long-term marriage with Knicks: ‘Perfect situation’

It wouldn’t be a surprise to learn that Josh Hart sings the lyrics to “Go New York Go,” the Knicks’ anthem of the mid-1990s, in his spare time.

He’s already sold on the Knicks. Hart can see himself being part of the franchise for years to come.

“That’s something I definitely want to do,” Hart, acquired at the trade deadline from the Trail Blazers, said on Thursday after practice. “I want a home. I want to find a home. This is a place where I would love that home to be. On the court, there are so many things that align with my principles as a player and off the court just being around with friends and close to family. This would be an amazing spot. Hopefully they feel the same.

“It’s a perfect situation for me on and off the court.”

Hart, who has a $12.9 million player option for next year, has scored in double figures in all three games as a Knick coming off the bench. The 6-foot-4 wing has bounced around after getting selected 30th overall in the 2017 draft by the Jazz, spending time with four different organizations and six different head coaches. He’s tired of moving and learning new systems. He can envision himself being a Knick for a long time and returning to his northeast roots as a Silver Spring, Md., native who went to college at Villanova after previously playing for the Lakers, Pelicans and Trail Blazers.

Josh Hart wants to stay with the Knicks long-term.
Josh Hart wants to stay with the Knicks long-term. Getty Images

It obviously helps matters that coach Tom Thibodeau has raved about him as a player he always has been fond of, and Hart is very close with former Villanova teammate Jalen Brunson. A video of a joyous Brunson reacting to the trade went viral. Furthermore, team president Leon Rose is his former agent, and they have kept a strong relationship through the years even after Rose left CAA to run the Knicks.

“Hopefully I can tap his pockets a little bit,” the 27-year-old Hart joked as the Knicks prepared for Friday’s game in Washington following the All-Star break. “That’s the guy that brought me to CAA. I was bummed when he left, obviously left me in good hands with Aaron Mintz and Dave Spahn. I think [it helps]. … It’s always love with me and him, no matter what side I’m on or whatever it is. I know it’s a business, but I let y’all know my side of it.”

Josh Hart (r.) with Knicks guard Jalen Brunson (l.)
Josh Hart (r.) with Knicks guard Jalen Brunson (l.) Jason Szenes for the NY Post

Hart is still looking for a home in the area. His wife, Shannon Phillips, is a fan of Manhattan, so they may find a place there for the time being. This summer, granted he stays with the Knicks, they will look for something in Westchester Country closer to the practice facility in Tarrytown.

“If anybody’s a Winged Foot’s member that can hook me up, we can put that Winged Foot membership in there, too, I’ll be good to go,” he said with a smile, referring to the famed golf club in Mamaroneck.

For now, Hart is focused on the job at hand, and helping the Knicks reach the postseason. He’s off to a flying start, averaging 17 points, 5.3 rebounds and 2.7 assists in 26 minutes per game. Most impressive has been his 3-point shooting. After shooting a career-low 30.2 percent on only 2.2 attempts with Portland this season, Hart has hit nine of 14 attempts with the Knicks. He’s impressed his new teammates, and they have impressed him as well.

“I think we can be a really good team, we can make a run,” Hart said. “We’re a team who can make a run, who I think teams won’t want to play.”