How Tom Thibodeau is helping to unlock Josh Hart’s offense with the Knicks

In his first three games as a Knick, Josh Hart hit as many 3-pointers (nine) as he did in his final 15 games as a Trail Blazer. In the second game, he equaled his single-game season high (six) in 3-point attempts.

Clearly, his role with his new team is different from the one he had with his previous club. Though Hart was averaging a career-low in 3-point attempts per game with Portland this season, Tom Thibodeau was bullish Hart hadn’t developed a mental block when it came to his inconsistent 3-point shot.

That seems obvious now.

“The biggest thing was it was tough at times [in Portland] because I wasn’t as involved in the offense in a way,” Hart told Sports+. “So there were times I didn’t touch the ball for four or five minutes. And then I get a shot, [with] six seconds [left on the shot clock]. If I was a JJ Redick, Kyle Korver, it would be cool. But I’m not just a catch-and-shoot guy. I’m more of a rhythm shooter, rhythm shot-maker.