Viral Trends

I found a huge wad of cash while shopping at Goodwill

Good bills at Goodwill!

A woman shared how she found a surprise hidden inside a suit while shopping at the thrift store.

“So I told my sister it would be fun to check suit pockets at the Goodwill,” Megan Meyer explains in her viral TikTok video. “We found $630 in one single suit.”

In just a few days the video went viral, amassing more than 2.2 million views and thousands of comments.

“I go to Goodwills pretty often, usually around twice a week,” Meyer explained to Daily Dot. “My sister and I were about to leave, and I said, ‘We should check suit pockets; I bet we would find something,’ so we stopped and looked through.”

“Pretty quickly, she gave me a look, and her eyes got super big. I thought she was just messing with me. She grabbed it — it looked like maybe a $20 and a few ones. We bought our stuff and headed to the car. When she unfolded it, we were in shock,” she remembered.

A woman shared how she found a surprise hidden inside a suit while shopping at the thrift store.
A woman shared how she found a surprise hidden inside a suit while shopping at the thrift store. TikTok/meganmeyer6752

Meyer insisted that she informed Goodwill employees of their find but that the workers told her to keep the wad of cash.

“I didn’t expect the video to blow up,” she continued. “I’ve been thrifting ever since I was little. Just thought I’d share my clip because thrifting has blown up recently.”

She likes to believe that the money was hidden on purpose as part of the donation.

“A lot of people were calling me selfish, but I think the person intentionally put the money there when they donated the suit,” she wrote. “I’ve for sure given back to Goodwill and will continue to!”

This isn’t the first time that thrifters have found welcome surprises in their Goodwill finds. Meyer’s TikTok was flooded with comments from others sharing similar stories of finding cash stashed inside the donated goods.

“Book are also a good place to look. I found four 1984 $50 bills at Half Price once,” @frankpa92 wrote.

“Yeah I found 1500$ in a suit when I volunteered at a thrift store,” @jacobroles commented.

“I do this every time found dab pens, money, jewelry,” @user791010 said.

A similar TikTok video recently went viral after a shopper revealed she discovered $300 cash in a $7 thrifted Coach bag, along with a drama-filled note.