Metro
exclusive

Native New Yorker randomly slapped on NYC train considering move to Florida

The woman who fumed “f–k New York” after she was randomly slapped on a Manhattan train last week said she’s considering ditching her hometown for Florida.

Vesly Beato, 22, bashed the current crime streak in the Big Apple with a now-viral TikTok video following the unprovoked attack — and continued doing so in a Wednesday night interview with The Post.

“I don’t feel that comfortable in New York anymore,” she said from her mother’s Upper Manhattan apartment. “It’s not the same … New York is not what it used to be.”

Beato’s change of heart came after she was smacked across the face by a man on a northbound 1 train last Friday while on her way home to Inwood in a random assault that left a mark on her nose.

The social media manager said she regularly uses the subway and never expected to become the victim of an attack in which she said “a man slapped the s–t out of me.”

“I kept repeating, ‘What did I do? What did I do to cause this?'” Beato said. “It’s sad that we think that way.”

She hasn’t set foot in the subway system since the assault and vowed Wednesday to keep it that way.

Beato’s TikTok video in which she recounts the assault and signs off with “f–k New York” has been viewed about 1.5 million times. Tiktok/Vesly Beato
Beato hasn’t taken the subway since she was attacked on a northbound 1 train Friday. James Keivom

The Manhattanite said she never thought she’d leave New York, but her perspective has “completely changed” since she was smacked across the face.

“I’m now seeing moving to different states as a possibility,” she told The Post.

“I’ve been considering Florida,” she said. “I recently visited Florida and it was amazing. The way of living is extremely different.”

Beato told The Post she is considering moving to Florida following the attack after believing she’d never leave the city. James Keivom

Beato said Friday’s attack left her feeling hopeless about the place she was born and raised.

“This area, the Inwood area, I never planned on leaving it,” she said. “I never thought it would happen on the 1 train … For it to be my neighborhood train and this happens — it’s like I feel hopeless.”

Beato’s TikTok video in which she says “The moral here is f–k New York” has been viewed more than 1.5 million times.

“When I said ‘f–k New York’ it was out of shock of what happened,” she said. “It came from a sense of disappointment and it came from being hurt. This is where I’m from, this is where I’m comfortable.”