NBA

ESPN’s Brian Windhorst talks about viral ‘First Take’ moment

Brian Windhorst went viral — now why is that? 

The ESPN NBA insider is back with more speculation, this time offering a theory as to why his recent monologue on “First Take” blew up the internet

“The reason people liked it is because it was a different type of story,” Windhorst said on ESPN. “It’s not what they normally see on TV. One of the great things about ‘First Take’ is that the A-block is really long. It’s totally different from the rest of our shows. That was a factor that allowed me to have some room. 

“When you’re telling a story like that, it essentially becomes a podcast, and I have a lot of experience doing podcasts. That’s the type of story you would tell, or the type of scenario you’d tell on a podcast. And even when I’m doing podcasts, even before we put podcasts on video, I would be sitting in my podcast studio alone. Sometimes I used to do them in the dark, because I like doing them in the dark. I would be demonstrative with my hands, even though nobody was in the room. 

Brian Windhorst enthralled viewers with his epic "First Take" monologue last week.
Brian Windhorst enthralled viewers with his epic “First Take” monologue last week.

“Which is kind of the way I talk, not normally but the way I talk when I’m talking about the NBA. So really, I fell into doing a podcast. It just happened to be on ‘First Take’ about a subject that had some mystery to it. And I think you put it all together and I think people really liked it.” 

Windhorst’s winding, podcast-style narrative gained even more notoriety upon its validation. Last Friday, hours after Windhorst pontificated on “First Take,” the Jazz made Windhorst look like a prophet — Utah shipped star center Rudy Gobert to Minnesota in a stunning blockbuster deal. 

And, as per the treasure trove of memes circulating the internet, Windhorst does have a favorite. 

“It would probably be the Target one, only because I’m hoping Target will now call with a lucrative endorsement contract,” Windhorst mused. “And in that particular case, I would be willing to take that call, Target, thank you very much.”