NBA

Jazz star Rudy Gobert claps back at Shaq: ‘I would lock his ass up’

Shaq and Rudy Gobert are in a war of words where no one could possibly be proven right or wrong.

Earlier this week on his podcast, Shaq was asked about the idea that the Jazz need to break up Gobert and Donovan Mitchell after Utah’s first-round exit in the NBA playoffs. Shaq began saying that one probably needed to go, and that while Gobert is an exceptional defensive player he contributes zilch on offense.

Shaq was interrupted by one of his co-hosts, Anthony “Spice” Adams, who interjected that Gobert could hold Shaq to 12 points.

“Twelve points? Yeah, in the first three minutes,” Shaq responded. “Let me tell you something, man. It’s against my religion for somebody to hold me one-on-one. I take that personally. I do.”

Shaq doesn't think Rudy Gobert could've guarded him.
Shaq doesn’t think Rudy Gobert could’ve guarded him. AFP via Getty Images
Rudy Gobert claims he would've locked Shaq up on defense.
Rudy Gobert claims he would’ve locked Shaq up on defense. Getty Images

“First play of the game I always used to look and see what the defense is going to do. Like ‘Okay, he’s doubling from Spice [Adams]. Spice is going to be wide open for the jumper,” he said. “Like, I always look at the first play. But if I get it and nobody’s coming, I take that as a sign of disrespect.”

O’Neal concluded: “You know what I’m going to do to him? He’s a shot blocker. You can’t shoot a shot. You’ve got to back his little skinny ass up under the rim. Show him the ‘bow so he gets scared and just go up.”

In the Instagram comments, Gobert said, “I would lock his ass up.”

Absent the creation of a time machine, this debate will have to be settled in hearts and minds.