Golf

Lydia Ko’s honest answer leaves reporter stunned: ‘It’s that time of the month’

Lydia Ko left a reporter speechless for her incredible honesty after a second place finish at the Palos Verdes Championship on Sunday.

Ko, who was two strokes behind winner Marina Alex, was spotted being stretched out by her physiotherapist during the final round of the tournament. Golf Channel’s Jerry Foltz asked asked the 25-year-old about tightness in her back and hips and her response was unexpected.

“I hope not,” Ko said when she was asked if her soreness would be a problem for the remainder of the tournament.

“It’s that time of the month. I know the ladies watching are probably like, yeah, I got you. So, when that happens, my back gets really tight, and I’m all twisted. It’s not the first time that Chris has seen me twisted, but it felt a lot better after he came. So, yeah, there you go.”

Foltz struggled to find the words for a response and chose not to ask Ko a follow-up, simply replying “Thanks.”

Ko laughed off the awkward response, “I know you’re at a loss for words, Jerry. Honesty it is,” she said.